February 2016

Pastor Mark
Do you feel it? Do you sense it? God is on the move in your life, your family, your workplace, your neighborhood, your church, and around the world. The incredible thing is that God invites us to partner with him to fulfill his purposes. Ephesians 2:10 (NLT) states, “For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.” God’s desire is that we join him to change the world. There is nothing greater than to know God and be used to transform lives. God desires people to know him and God is on the move. My prayer is that all of us will join him!

Global Encounters 2016
What a week to hear and experience God’s heart for the world! The message came through loud and clear that God is on mission and calling us to be part of it. We heard this in the Sunday Gathering, the International Dinner, Field Reports, Go Party, Irish Feis, Children’s events and more. A prayer that was said many times through the week was for God to call us onto his mission from our neighborhoods to nations. Our Global Partner, Krista, along with other workers did a great job sharing throughout the week and encouraging all of us in that direction.  Also, a big THANK YOU! to everyone who helped and participated to make this week a success.
 
Staff
The staff continues to meet weekly for prayer, planning, celebrating and discerning what God is saying.  This past month, we also celebrated three birthdays: Linnea on February 4th, Tim on February 8th, and Mark on February 21st!
 
Board of Governance (BOG)
The Board of Governance sets boundaries for the Pastor and meets quarterly. Our next meeting is on March 14th. Please be praying for our leaders and staff.
 
Elders
The Elders are responsible for shepherding and giving spiritual oversight in DAC. This past month, the Elders met on the 6th to pray.  The congregation participated in another unifying elder-led time of prayer on the 14th. Please join us in praying for God to do a great work in our lives, at DAC, in our communities, and to the ends of the earth!
 
Explorers Children’s Ministry
At DAC, we believe that children are both the present and future of the church which is why there is so much excitement in this growing ministry! Throughout the month of February, our library was transformed into another Explorer’s classroom thanks to the help of Jen Ashby, Laura Hessler, and many more!  We’re looking forward to our Explorers enjoying their new space!  The addition of another age group will enable our team to provide more age-appropriate teaching to the children, get to know them better in a smaller setting and continue to allow the ministry to grow. Invite your friends and family to be a part of what God is doing!
 
Additionally, preparations are in full swing for the Spring Carnival later this month.  This is a prime opportunity to bless our community and make connections with new families. Please be praying for who God would have you invite and then invite them! It is a great time!

Vision Youth Ministry
We believe that God is training up the next generation of disciples and leaders, and Vision is a vital part of this process.  The group continues to look at the life cycle of a Christ follower on Wednesday evenings. It is fun to see God working in the lives of our Vision students.  Many nights are filled with great questions and dialog among the students and leaders!
 
Those attending the LIFE conference this summer have also continued in their fundraising efforts. Through the envelope fundraiser, a total $1,824 was gathered thanks to your generosity! These students also served the congregation during Global Encounters by preparing a spaghetti dinner to help raise support for this trip.  We can’t thank you enough for all your support!

Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless
On February 5, we had the privilege of moving in Paythia and her four girls into permanent housing!  We have also connected a couple times with Dick Pettit, MCCH's Board Chair, and local business owner.  Dick provided free storage space for all the household items while we waited for Paythia's paperwork to clear.  MCCH also contacted us with this information:  "I have some news about James and Megan whom Derwood Alliance moved in to housing last October. They are planning to get married! They have some needs for support (including financial) related to getting married."  We responded that we would love to hear more about this, and we are waiting to hear back.
 
Building and Grounds
This past month Mark Neely became the new team leader for building and grounds. We are excited to have him as part of our team and are excited for many projects that are in the works. Also, we wanted to thank Mike Munson for all of his faithful service as the former leader of building and grounds and all of those who volunteer their time and effort to keep this building functioning and looking good. Thank you and may God use this building for his glory. 
 
Volunteers
Thank you to all the volunteers that are faithfully serving from year to year in many different capacities! Thank you to those who have just begun to volunteer and those who are considering it. Without you we could not accomplish what God is asking us to do! God is on the move and we are excited to see where he is taking us.
 
Dates for your Calendar
Prayer Gathering – March 9, 7:00pm
Lifetree Café – March 16, 7:30pm
Good Friday Service – March 25 at First Alliance Church
Spring Carnival – March 26, 11am
Easter Sunday – March 27, 10am

March 2016

Staff
The staff continues to meet weekly for prayer, planning, celebrating and discerning what God is saying.  In one particular staff meeting, we took a prayer walk around our church property praying for all who may come enjoy our Spring Carnival as well as the other established ministries and future ministries.  Also in this past month, we celebrated Katie Boss’ birthday on the 18th!
 
Board of Governance (BOG)
The Board of Governance sets boundaries for the Pastor and meets quarterly.  On March 14tt The Board met and talked about connecting with people. We reviewed a profile of a community and talked about how better to connect with our community. We also reviewed the boundary principles, monitoring performance and connecting with Christ. This was also the first board meeting with our new member, Sarah Luse. Welcome!
 
Elders
The Elders are responsible for shepherding and giving spiritual oversight in DAC.  This past month we meet and prayed for the church and talked about our responsibility as Elders according to Titus 1:5-9. If you would ever like us to pray for you, please contact the office and, we would love to do so.
 
Leadership Development
The Staff, Elders, and Board met on the 21st for another time of leadership development.  In this gathering, we began our discussion on the book, “Winning on Purpose,” by John E. Kaiser and Thomas G. Bandy. This book is how our church is structured. We also took time to reflect on current challenges and celebrations we have experienced as a church. We will meet next month and continue to discuss the book and where God is leading us as a church.
 
Prayer Gathering
On March 9th we held a prayer gathering. The focus for this time was praying for our community, so after a time of worship, we headed out to pray through neighborhoods, at schools, at the Metro, and more. The word that stood out when people returned was all the possibilities that are right around us. Please pray that we would discern how God would have us invest in an even greater way in our community.
 
Lifetree Café
We provide Lifetree Café as a way to build bridges of friendships with unchurched people that will bear the message of the Gospel.  Attendance at Lifetree Café was up in March, including several people who were there for the first time.  Those first timers included two of the ladies who were at the Irish Feis (women's outreach during Global Encounters) in February, and another couple who were referred to Lifetree by a former DAC English for Life student.  The Wednesday evening small group is praying regularly for Lifetree Cafe, and sharing more of the responsibilities for making it happen.  We even did a field trip to another Lifetree Cafe in Bowie, MD.  In addition to inviting your unchurched friends to come with you to Lifetree, you can help by spreading the word with the "Lifetree Café - Rockville MD" Facebook page and the "Lifetree Conversation Café" Meetup group.
 
Explorers Children’s Ministry
Children are at the prime age for connecting with Jesus, and we want to engage them with prime ministry!  Our elementary age Explorers are loving their new small group/ large group arrangement, which provides better teacher to student ratios, and more space to work with.  Now our 30 months - K Lil' Explorers group is growing, and we invested in some tools to accommodate this growing class! 
 
Plans are finalized for a one day children's ministry training here at DAC on Saturday, May 14 with Melissa McDonald, CWM, who is the National Children's Disciplemaking Specialist for the Christian & Missionary Alliance.  Children's ministry teams from our district will join us for this day of investing in our teams with effective, relevant training.
 
Vision Youth Ministry
We believe that God is training up the next generation of disciples and leaders, and Vision is a vital part of this process.  Attendance for Vision has seen an increase this past month, and the students seem to really enjoy this time together.  Conversations about the life of a Christian continue to be a focal point of Wednesday evenings.  The students and leaders are excited for the upcoming district youth retreat this spring and LIFE conference this summer.
 
Building and Grounds
God has entrusted us with a great property and we desire to take care of what He has provided.  On March 12th, a great group of individuals came out to plant sod where the trailer used to be as well as for other beautification tasks around the building.   A huge thank you to Mark Neely and all the men and women that came out to help with this job!  It was no small task, and our lawn looks great!
 
We have also consolidated our lawn care with one company and want to thank Filomeno (Laura Lores’ father) for the past care of our garden beds…he has done a great job!  If you are interested on being part of helping with building and grounds, please contact the office. There are many projects for all different skill levels.
 
Spring Carnival
This year’s Spring Carnival hit new records!  1350 fliers distributed, over 200 children present, estimated around 600 total people present, 104 families got pics with the Easter bunny, 340 plus people entered for door prizes, 42 door prizes given away, 40 plus DAC volunteers, and over 80 new email contacts!  It was a beautiful day and many families in our community came out and had a great time.  Many thanks to Ray Boss, Melanie Neely, Jen Ashby, and all of our 40 plus volunteers that made this day a success!
 
Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless
We believe that the Church has a mandate to care for the materially poor.  At DAC, we take this seriously which is why we love to support and partner with Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless.  Over these past few weeks, preparations for very exciting upcoming events have taken place.  The first was submitting a contribution to sponsor the 2016 Gala.  This sponsorship given by DAC to MCCH will provide household furnishings for one veteran moving into a permanent home.   Pastor Mark, Nami, Jen Ashby, Mark and Melanie Neely will be attending this event later this month.  
 
The second event we are looking forward to is the wedding of James and Meagan!  Last fall, DAC helped move James and Meagan into their new home through Operation Homecoming.  After receiving a inquiring phone call from a MCCH caseworker this month, we have the privilege of helping make their wedding (April 20th) and reception (April 22nd) a reality!  If you would like to write a note to James and Meagan to congratulate them, a basket is available at the Welcome Table for these cards to be collected. 
 
General Fund as of April 3rd
YTD Budget - $103,866.00
YTD Giving - $69,287.39
 
Dates for your Calendar
Lifetree Café – April 6th, 7:30pm
LIFE Yard Sale – April 9th, 8:00am
The Art of Marriage – April 16th, 9:00am
Lifetree Café – April 20th, 7:30pm
LIFE Bake Sale – April 26th
DYR – April 29th to May 1st 
LIFE Conference July 5th-10th
 

May 2016

Pastor Mark
What a great month with so much good happening. I am encouraged to see how God is moving and all the new life at DAC. People are talking and can sense it. I am also waiting in anticipation as God lays out his plans for our future. I believe that God’s desire is for DAC to be a community that is transformed by Jesus, empowered by his Spirit and launched on mission. As you read the following, you will hear some of what God is doing and also see three key people we are asking God to raise up for this season of ministry to carry God’s mission forward. Please pray with us and thank you for joining us on this great adventure with God.
 
Staff
The staff continues to meet weekly for prayer, planning, celebrating, and discernment.  It is exciting to see the unity of purpose and a passion with the staff. The staff is also taking a two-day retreat June 7-8 for prayer, connecting and planning for the future.
 
Board of Governance (BOG)
The Board of Governance sets boundaries for the Pastor and meets quarterly. Our next meeting is coming up June 13th where we will talk about updating our principals, accountability, and support. We will also be having a status check on monitoring performance, connecting with Christ, and connecting with people.
 
Elders
The Elders are responsible for shepherding and giving spiritual oversight in DAC.  Each month the Elders meet for a time of prayer and discuss situations and how we can provide care for the people of DAC. We met Saturday, May 7th. The Elders also lead a time of congregational prayer each month directly after the Sunday gathering. This took place on May 8th and will take place again on June 12th.  If you would like prayer for anything, please let the Elders know, so that we can pray and coordinate a time if you would like to meet.  Also, Tom Wissink is ending his time as an Elder as Bonnie and him are transitioning to Florida and will be serving in a church there. Please pray for wisdom as we identify and train new Elders at DAC.
 
Leadership Development
The Staff, Elders, and Board met on May 16th for another time of leadership development.  As we continue our discussion of the book “Winning on Purpose,” we talked about our ultimate goals for the church and what it looks like for the church to prioritize and reach those goals.   Also, we discussed where we see DAC headed for the future (i.e. in one year, five years, ten years). We are looking at the concept of DAC being a community where people and communities are transformed by Jesus, empowered by His Spirit and launched on Mission. Please pray with us for God’s unity and for him to lay out his path for DAC.
 
Worship
In-ear-monitors have been updated and speakers have been removed.  The worship and A/V team are still transitioning through all the kinks of these updates, but it has been great to see these changes!  Thank you to Katie and everyone on these teams for the time, energy and flexibility that you have put in behind the scenes to make it all happen.  We are still looking for more people to help in the A/V team. This is a vital team that allows people to worship God by providing quality and distraction free environment for worship. So if you are a techy kind of person, let us know and we would love to get you connected.
 
Vision Youth Ministry
We believe that God is training up the next generation of disciples and leaders, and Vision is a vital part of this process. 
While the month of May had a more relaxed schedule than April, great things still happened through our Wednesday night gatherings.  Vision students continue to engage in the group discussion and have shared great questions with the group.  With the warmer weather, both students and leaders have enjoyed getting outside to play basketball, frisbee and more!
 
Explorers Children’s Ministry
Children are at the prime age for connecting with Jesus, and we want to engage them with prime ministry! 
We had about 80 people representing 15 churches present for the #PRIME children's ministry training with Melissa MacDonald, CWM on May 14.  That same weekend, we revealed a new Explorers Children's Ministry logo, and in June, the children will be naming these new winged friends.  We have started a "dream list" of children's ministry initiatives that could be considered once we have a designated children's ministry director.  Please join in praying for God's person for this role as the Children’s Ministry Director.
 
Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless
We believe that the Church has a mandate to care for the materially poor.  At DAC, we take this seriously which is why we love to support and partner with Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless. 
On May 17, Jen Ashby and Sarah Luse attended the HOME Conference hosted by MCCH.  The conference provides training in best practices for serving people experiencing homelessness, and offered a lot of insight and connections.  We are excited to continue to partner with MCCH and see where God takes this.
 
Lifetree Café
Lifetree Café is provided as a way to build bridges of friendships with unchurched people that will bear the message of the Gospel. 
This past month, Lifetree discussed dreams and nightmares and the mystery of autism.  We have continued to see new people connecting though invitations by friends and in addition to inviting your unchurched friends to come with you to Lifetree, you can help by spreading the word with the "Lifetree Café - Rockville MD" Facebook page and the "Lifetree Conversation Café" Meetup group.
 
Small Groups
Small groups are a great place for making friends, praying, studying the Bible, and living on mission. Many groups have been meeting over this semester and will be finishing this month. We have seen new people connecting and are excited to see where God is taking this group. Over the summer, there will be informal times to connect. Look for many small groups to begin again in fall.
 
Missions Team
Currently the mission ream is meeting once a month to discuss many areas of Mission. Emily Harr has expressed her desire to have someone else take this lead. Please pray for God to raise up a new Mission’s Team Leader.
 
 
Building and Grounds
Mark Neely continues to head up building and grounds along with the help of many individuals. On May 7th we had our church work day.  With many people that morning, we were able to accomplish various projects like tree trimming and removal, power washing, and many on their tasks around the church.
 
We also are moving forward on repairing and updating the outside of the building. We are looking into different ideas for the front, an updated sign, taking care of drainage issues and more. All of this is to put a fresh visible face for the thousands of people that drive by DAC every day. We believe that God wants us to be a light in our community and to put our best foot forward with our building and everything else we do. Our goal to have these project completed by fall.
 
Mid-Atlantic District Conference
Pastor Mark, Nami, and their children, as well as Jen Ashby, attended the Mid-Atlantic District Conference in Williamsburg, VA on May 23-26.  It was a rich time of vision-casting, challenge, worship, business, and connecting.  Pastor Mark served on the Legislative Review Committee for this conference.  Jen was elected to another two-year term as District Secretary. There is a sense of God both at work in the district and local church, but there is much work to be done. Please pray for God to create healthy vibrant churches!
 
Meet the Staff
On May 15, we had a "Meet the Staff" lunch with four new households represented.  It was a fun time for the staff to gather with these individuals, introduce ourselves, and enjoy some sloppy joes!
 
Other Notables
One of our young leaders attended a gathering the the C&MA this last month. Click here for a link to it. 
 
After more than 30 years with DAC, and since Tom recently retired, Tom and Bonnie Wissink are making a move to Florida.  They have committed to helping a church there in need for the next year with Tom working with the Lead Pastor and Bonnie running the Children’s ministry. They will be missed but we sense that this is God’s leading. Please pray for them during all these transitions.
 
General Fund as of May 29th
YTD Budget - $163,218.00
YTD Giving - $115,734.00
 
Dates for your Calendar
LIFE Car Wash Fundraiser – June 12th
Lunch Together – June 26th
Vision Grad Night – June 29th
LIFE Conference July 5th-10th

June 2016

Pastor Mark
Can you believe that June is already gone and the 4th of July is around the corner? I have now been here one year and am excited to see how God is growing and developing the church. This is not about me, this is about God and his desire for us to be Transformed by Jesus, Empowered by his spirit and Launched on mission.  My prayer is that each one of us would catch God’s vision for us, our families, our church, our community, and the world. The possibilities for God’s transformative work in this area are limitless, and God has positioned each one of us at DAC for this time!
 
Staff
The staff meets weekly for prayer, planning, celebrating, and discernment. The staff took a two-day retreat to Virginia in the beginning of the month, to get to know each other more, pray with one another, and seek God’s guidance for the future.  It was a great time away and gave us all an opportunity to ask God how he wants to Transform us, Empower us, and launch us onto mission.
 
Board of Governance (BOG)
The Board of Governance sets boundaries for the Pastor and meets quarterly. The BOG met on June 13th and talked about updating our Bylaws and Principles. We also discussed how to monitor the Lead Pastor’s performance, connecting with Christ, and connecting with people.  It is exciting to have a unified board that governs well.
 
Elders
The Elders are responsible for shepherding and giving spiritual oversight in DAC.  Each month the Elders meet for a time of prayer, discussing situations, and how we can provide care for the people of DAC. We met Saturday, June 4th and had a great time of prayer but also discussed training and developing new Elders for the church. The Elders also lead a time of congregational prayer each month directly after the Sunday gathering. This took place on June 12th and will take place again on July 10th.  If you would like prayer for anything, please let the Elders know, so that we can pray and coordinate a time if you would like to meet.  Please continue to pray for wisdom as we identify and train new Elders at DAC.
 
Leadership Development
The Staff, Elders, and Board met on June 20th for another time of leadership development.  In this gathering, we concluded our discussion of the book “Winning on Purpose.”  A short summer break will take place as our next time together will be August 15th. We will begin the book Exponential this fall.  As a group, we are still processing the concept of DAC being a community where people and communities are transformed by Jesus, empowered by his spirit and launched on mission. Please pray with us for God’s unity and for him to lay out his path for DAC.
 
Worship
The A/V team is a vital team that allows people to worship God by providing quality and distraction free environment for worship. If you are a techy kind of person, let us know and we would love to get you connected. We are also looking how to become intentionally multi-ethnic and multicultural in our expressions of worship. Please pray for the people and wisdom as we head in this direction.
 
Vision Youth Ministry
We believe that God is training up the next generation of disciples and leaders, and Vision is a vital part of this process. 
June was a busy month for Vision Youth!  The last two fundraisers for LIFE took place this month.  On the 4th, the students held their second yard sale and raised about $300!  The students then held a community car wash on 12th after the Sunday gathering. Again, because or your and the community’s generosity, the students raised about $600 that afternoon!  Thank You!
Also this month, three of our Vision students were celebrated and honored at Grad Night on the 29th.  It was a fun evening reminiscing past memories and reflecting on the future.
Next week, a handful from Vision Youth will head to LIFE Conference, an incredible event for teens. Please pray for God to use this in a transformational way in our students and leaders lives.
 
Explorers Children’s Ministry
Children are at the prime age for connecting with Jesus, and we want to engage them with prime ministry! 
Explorers Ministry has started a "dream list" of children's ministry initiatives that could be considered once there is a designated children's ministry director.  Please continue to join in praying for God's person for this role as the Children’s Ministry Director.
 
Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless
We believe that the Church has a mandate to care for the materially poor.  At DAC, we take this seriously which is why we love to support and partner with Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless. 
On June 5th, we hosted our second Community Walk for MCCH!  Prior to our walk, we had the great privilege of hearing from Anthony, a current resident of the Home Builders Care Assessment Center, located on Gude Drive. If you still haven’t heard Anthony’s story, click here.  Thank you to everyone that participated and donated!  We raised a total of $2318!
 
Lifetree Café
Lifetree Café is provided as a way to build bridges of friendships with unchurched people that will bear the message of the Gospel. 
This past month, Lifetree discussed the political division in our county along with political correctness: where do you draw the line? We have continued to see new people connecting though invitations by friends and people inviting their unchurched friends to come with you to Lifetree, you can help by spreading the word with the "Lifetree Café - Rockville MD" Facebook page and the "Lifetree Conversation Café" Meetup group. A great place to connect!

Small Groups
Small groups are a great place for making friends, praying, studying the Bible, and living on mission.  Over the summer, there will be informal times to connect. Look for many small groups to begin again in fall.
 
Missions Team
Currently the mission ream is meeting once a month to discuss many areas of Mission. Emily Harr has expressed her desire to have someone else take this lead. This month we met and talked about how to evaluate current missionaries, global partnership, and local partnership. It is exciting to see what God is doing and how he is developing this team. Please pray for God to raise up a new Mission’s Team Leader.
 
 
Building and Grounds
We desire to be wise stewards of the property and put our best face forward to our community because is worth it and he has given us a great location and property!
We are moving forward on repairing and updating the outside of the building. We are looking into different ideas for the front, an updated sign, taking care of drainage issues and more. It is moving slower than expected but keep looking for updates.
 
Other Notables
Three individuals were baptized this month!  To hear their stories again, or if you missed this special Sunday gathering, click here.
 
Dates for your Calendar
4th of July at the Homan’s, 5:30pm
LIFE Conference - July 5-10
Lifetree Café – July 6, 7:30pm-8:30pm
Together DC- July 16, 9:00am-9:00pm
Vision (Youth) Pool Party- July 20, 4:00pm-8:00pm
Lifetree Café – July 20, 7:30pm-8:30pm
Lunch Together and Jen’s 10 year Anniversary - July 24, 11:00 am
 
 

July 2016

Pastor Mark
A few weeks ago I had the difficult task to travel back to Wisconsin and perform a funeral for one of my friends who passed away from health complications. I was reminded of a few things with regards to the loss of someone and the travel back home. First, life is fragile. We are not guaranteed the future so let’s make the most of today. Live fully for God in every moment. Make sure you know Jesus Christ because you never know when it will be your time to stand face to face with him and give an account for your life.
 
Second, when I returned to my hometown, it no longer felt like home and when I landed back at Regan Airport, I felt like I was coming home. This was God reminding me that he has brought me here, and I am exactly where I am supposed to be. My hope is that you have the same sense with living for God and the positioning of your life for God’s purposes.
 
Staff
The staff meets weekly for prayer, planning, celebrating, and discernment.
The staff has jumped into a handful of projects this month to gear up for the fall; everything from our connection ministry, updating the welcome center, website, ordering new parking signs, and more!  Stay tuned for all these great new additions and updates in the months ahead.
 
Board of Governance (BOG)
The Board of Governance sets boundaries for the Pastor and meets quarterly.
Our next meeting is on September 12th
 
Elders
The Elders are responsible for shepherding and giving spiritual oversight to DAC.  
Each month, the Elders meet for a time of prayer, discuss situations, and brainstorm how we can provide care for the people of DAC. We met Saturday, July 2nd. The Elders also lead a time of congregational prayer each month directly after the Sunday gathering. This took place on July 10th and will take place again on August 14th.  If you would like prayer for anything, please let the Elders know, so that we can pray and coordinate a time if you would like to meet.  
 
Leadership Development
The Staff, Elders, and Board took a “summer break” during the month of July and will meet again on August 15th. We are excited for some things that are being planned for the fall.
 
Worship
The A/V team is a vital team that allows people to worship God by providing quality and distraction free environment for worship.
We are excited to announce that Matthew Sutton is taking on the lead for the A/V Team. Jeff Geraci served for many years in this position and we thank him for his faithfulness! We are also excited to see how God is going to use Matthew to build this team for the future.  If you are a techy kind of person, let us know and we would love to get you connected. We are also looking how to become intentionally multi-ethnic and multicultural in our expressions of worship. Please pray for wisdom as we head in this new direction.
 
Vision Youth Ministry
We believe that God is training up the next generation of disciples and leaders, and Vision is a vital part of this process. 
All the hard work put into fundraising paid off and God was glorified!  Eight Vision students and four Vision leaders made it to LIFE 2016 in Kansas City!  It was a great week of being with 5,000+ students from around the world learning, growing, and having fun together.  A highlight for many in our group was the small group time where we discussed the different sessions and seminars we attended earlier that day.  Please continue to pray for these students and leaders as they take what God taught them that week and put it into practice of everyday life. Thank you again to everyone that donated and prayed!
 
Explorers Children’s Ministry
Children are at the prime age for connecting with Jesus, and we want to engage them with prime ministry! 
The verdict is in!  The Explorers have named our three lovable Explorers Children’s Ministry mascots: Captain Goggles, Rexy, and Stormy! Great names!
 
Our oldest Explorers joined the adults and teens in the upstairs Sunday Gathering again on July 31st. It was again a great time of multiple generations coming together for worship!
 
A "dream list" of children's ministry initiatives that could be considered once there is a designated children's ministry director is still being put together.  Please continue to join in praying for God's person for the role of Children’s Ministry Director.
 
Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless
We believe that the Church has a mandate to care for the materially poor.  At DAC, we take this seriously which is why we love to support and partner with Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless. 
Currently we are collecting back to school supplies for students. If you would like to donate, please click here.
 
Lifetree Café
Lifetree Café is provided as a way to build bridges of friendships with unchurched people that will bear the message of the Gospel. 
This past month, Lifetree discussed two heavy topics: the process of healing after an unexpected loss and the growing child sex trade in America.  The next topic of discussion on August 3rd was a bit more light hearted – “Laughter is the Best Medicine.”
 
Lifetree is a great place for people to connect, and you can help by spreading the word with the "Lifetree Café - Rockville MD" Facebook page and the "Lifetree Conversation Café" Meetup group.
 
Small Groups
Small groups are a great place for making friends, praying, studying the Bible, and living on mission.  
We’re still enjoying the more informal times to connect this summer, but look for many small groups to begin again in September!
 
Missions Team
Currently the mission ream is meeting once a month to discuss many areas of Mission. Emily Harr has expressed her desire to have someone else take this lead. This month we met and talked about how to evaluate current missionaries, global partnership, and local partnership. It is exciting to see what God is doing and how he is developing this team. We are also considering a short term trip this next year and how to live more missionally here. Please pray for God to raise up a new Mission’s Team Leader.
 
 
Building and Grounds
We desire to be wise stewards of the property and put our best face forward to our community because is worth it and he has given us a great location and property!
Thank You Mark Neely and team for all the improvements that are happening. We are still investigating updating the front of our building and replacing the sign, and other projects. It has been moving slower than we wanted but hopefully will come together sooner than later. 
 
Other Notables
On July 24th, we had another delicious Lunch Together and celebrated Jen’s 10 years of faithful service to DAC! Beth Campbell, Katie Boss, and Pastor Mark all took the opportunity to share about Jen, and Pastor Mark presented her with a gift on behalf of the church.  It was a true day of celebration! Thank You Jen for your faithfulness to God and the Church!
Congratulations to Kyle and Chinh on dedicating James. May God bless your family!
 
Dates for your Calendar
Vision Yuck Ball - August 7, 12:00pm-3:00pm
Lifetree Café - August 17, 7:30pm-8:30pm
Family Movie Night - August 19
Lunch Together - August 28, 11:00 am
Vision @ Rockin Jump - August 31, 6:00pm-8:00pm

August 2016

Pastor Mark
Can you believe that summer is winding down? The kids are back in school. The days are getting shorter. The weather is cooling, and God is at work. It is exciting to be a part of God’s work! As we enter the fall, I am excited about DAC’s renewed vision of being people who are Transformed by Jesus, Empowered by the Holy Spirit, and Launched on mission.  We are beginning a series this Sunday on this exact topic, and I would encourage you to make it a priority to jump on in and see what God has for you and DAC! Please continue to pray for all that God is doing at DAC.
 
Staff
The staff meets weekly for prayer, planning, celebrating, and discernment.
In addition to weekly meetings, the staff attended Willow Creek’s Global Leadership Summit (GLS) on August 11th and 12th.  It was two full days filled with great speakers from Bill Hybels, Pastor of Willow Creek Church, to Melinda Gates, Co-founder of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation to Alan Mulally, President and CEO of Ford.  The staff is now reading, “The 4 Disciplines of Execution,” by another great GLS speaker, Chris McChesney.  As of August 31st, the staff has begun discussing the contents of this book and looking at how we can take these concepts and use them in the church. We are also in the process of implementing Elvanto, a new church management system, to better manage volunteers, groups and more. We are hoping for it to streamline some areas of the church.
 
Board of Governance (BOG)
The Board of Governance sets boundaries for the Pastor and meets quarterly.
Our next meeting is on September 12th . Please be in prayer for the board as we discuss God’s present and future for the church.
 
Elders
The Elders are responsible for shepherding and giving spiritual oversight to DAC.  
Each month, the elders meet for a time of prayer, discuss situations, and brainstorm how we can provide care for the people of DAC. We last met on Saturday, August 6th. The elders also lead a time of congregational prayer each month directly after the Sunday gathering. This took place on August 14th and will take place again on September 11th.  If you would like prayer for anything, please let the elders know, so that we can pray and coordinate a time if you would like to meet.  
 
Leadership Development
The staff, elders, and board met again on August 15th. We are excited for some things that are being planned for the fall and will begin reading the book, “Exponential: How You and Your Friends Can Start a Missional Church Movement.” We have invited current and potential leaders to be part of this conversation.
 
Worship
We are excited to be a part of facilitating worship here at DAC and bringing people before God in a way that is transformative. In addition, the A/V team is a vital team that allows people to worship God by providing quality and distraction free environment for worship.
 
If you are musically inclined or a techy kind of person, let us know and we would love to get you connected. We are also looking how to become intentionally multi-ethnic and multicultural in our expressions of worship. Please pray for wisdom as we head in this new direction to incorporate the nations in our worship.
 
Vision Youth Ministry
We believe that God is training up the next generation of disciples and leaders, and Vision is a vital part of this process. 
Vision Youth took a summer break most of August.  Vision Leaders Trainings took place on the 17th and 24th where current and potential new leaders met to discuss the purpose and vision of Vision Ministries.  To celebrate the completion of the summer break, a handful of Vision students and leaders headed out to Rockin’ Jump, a trampoline park, and had a great night! Please pray for the students as they transition back into school and as students transition out of Explorers and into Vision. We are also prayerfully seeking out more volunteers for Vision.
 
Explorers Children’s Ministry
Children are at the prime age for connecting with Jesus, and we want to engage them with prime ministry! 
Explorers Children’s Ministry has been shifting and growing over the summer!  Many parts behind the scenes took place in August so that new Explorers could be welcomed Sunday mornings!  New ages groups have been implanted for the new school year (Tiny Explorers: birth - 30 months, Lil Explorers: 30 months - PreK, Explorers 1: K-2nd, & Explorers 2: 3rd-5th) and room 109/110 will now serve as the Large Group classroom Sunday mornings.
 
A "dream list" of children's ministry initiatives that could be considered once there is a designated children's ministry director is still being put together.  Please continue to join in praying for God's person for the role of Children’s Ministry Director.
 
Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless
We believe that the Church has a mandate to care for the materially poor.  At DAC, we take this seriously which is why we love to support and partner with Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless. 
Jen Ashby delivered the donated school items to MCCH’s Back to School Fair on August 18th where she was able to volunteer as emcee and raffle prize announcer.
 
Lifetree Café
Lifetree Café is provided as a way to build bridges of friendships with unchurched people that will bear the message of the Gospel. 
This past month, Lifetree discussed laughter as medicine and living a grace-filled life.  The next topic of discussion on September 7th is titled, “Bias: What’s the Media’s Agenda?”
 
Lifetree is a great place for people to connect, and you can help by spreading the word with the "Lifetree Café - Rockville MD" Facebook page, the "Lifetree Conversation Café" Meetup group, or attending yourself and inviting a friend.
 
Small Groups
Small groups are a great place for making friends, praying, studying the Bible, and living on mission.  
Registration for Fall 2016 Small Groups has opened!  Be sure to register by September 11th. In lieu of small groups over the summer, we have enjoyed fun and delicious Lunch Together!  We will enjoy another one in September, but are excited to get back into groups for this fall. Get signed up. We are going to have a great time!
 
Missions Team
Currently the mission team is meeting once a month to discuss many areas of mission. Emily Harr has expressed her desire to have someone else take this lead and we are praying for God to raise up a leader for our Missions Team! This month we met and talked about how to evaluate current missionaries, global partnership, and local partnership. It is exciting to see what God is doing and how he is developing this team for both missions here and abroad. We are also considering a short term trip this next year. Stay tuned for exciting details this next month.
 
Building and Grounds
We desire to be wise stewards of the property and put our best face forward to our community because is worth it and he has given us a great location and property!
We are still investigating updating the front of our building and replacing the sign, and other projects. It has been moving slower than we wanted but hopefully will come together sooner than later.  Our grounds have been given a little sprucing up with new parking lot signs, guest parking signs, and handicap parking signs, trimming of trees, and more. We have a work day scheduled to take care of drainage issues on Saturday October 22nd. Mark Neely is looking for help.  He can be contacted at MarkNeely@havtech.com or 301-537-8909
 
Other Notables
Many families enjoyed a movie night this month!  Popcorn was popped and a great Pixar movie was shown!
 
Dates for your Calendar
District Prayer Gathering – September 9, 7:30pm
Last Day for Small Group Registration – September 11
Baptism Sunday – September 18
Meet the Staff – September 18
Vision Pumpkin Bash – October 26
Spiritual Growth Weekend (Youth) – November 4-6
IF: Gathering for Women – November 5, 9am-4pm
WACMM Men’s Event – November 12, 8:30am-3pm

September 2016

Pastor Mark
The Lead Pastor leads the church within the boundaries set by the Board.
I have sensed the favor of God on our church as we have talked about being people who are transformed by Jesus, empowered by the Holy Spirit and launched on mission.  The conversation in small groups, the engagement of people in discovering their gifts, and so much more is exciting. God is on the move. Continue to pray with me that God would unify and use DAC to expand his kingdom across this area and to the ends of the earth. 
 
Staff
The staff manages ministry and meets weekly for prayer, planning, celebrating, and discernment.
The staff is about half way through the book “The 4 Disciplines of Execution,” by Chris McChesney.  The contents of this book have brought about a lot of ideas, questions, and brainstorming.  Elvanto, a church management software, is still in the process of being implemented. Our goal with this is to better manage volunteers, groups and more by email and text scheduling.  Elvanto will help prevent future double booking of volunteers and so much more.
 
Board of Governance (BOG)
The Board of Governance sets boundaries for the Pastor and meets quarterly.
The Board met this month. We discussed monitoring the performance of the senior pastor and are still in the process of implementing a system to do this. Other things that were discussed were 2 Timothy 2:1-2 about leadership development, a status check on connecting with Christ, connecting with people, and updating our principles. Alongside this, we talked about opportunities to serve our community, using our building missionally, improving the outside of our building, and more. Our next meeting is scheduled for December 12th were we will be finalizing the budget for 2017.
 
Elders
The Elders shepherd and give spiritual oversight to DAC.  
Each month, the elders meet for a time of prayer, discuss situations, and brainstorm how we can provide care for the people of DAC. We last met on September 3rd. The elders also lead a time of congregational prayer each month directly after the Sunday gathering. This took place on September 11th.  If you would like prayer for anything, please let the elders know, so that we can pray and coordinate a time if you would like to meet.  
 
Fall Festival
Thank you for making our first fall festival a success. It was great to see how things turned out even with the forecast for rain. The decision to move inside was great; children and parents had loads of fun playing in the bounce house, petting the animals in the petting zoo, playing games, and eating treats!  A big thank you to Jen and Melanie for coordinating this event, to all the volunteers that invested so much, and to the people in our church and community for showing up. May we see God use this to connect us even more with our community.

Leadership Development
The staff, elders, board, and about 20 other individuals met on September 19th to discuss the book, “Exponential: How You and Your Friends Can Start a Missional Church Movement.”  We broke up into groups of five or six and worked our way through the first five chapters.  It was a lot of material to cover, but it lent itself to some great conversations! The big takeaway that was being communicated is for all areas of ministry to adopt an apprenticeship model to develop future leaders.
 
Worship
We are excited to facilitate worship at DAC and bring people before God in a way that is transformative. In addition, the A/V team allows people to worship God by providing a quality and distraction free environment for worship.
We have a great A/V and worship team!  On the 25th, the bulb in the projector went out during practice and the members of both teams really rallied together to put together a temporary fix for that Sunday’s gathering.  Since then, a new bulb has been ordered.  Thank you again to everyone!   We continue to look for ways to improve our Sunday morning experience.
 
If you are musically inclined or a techy kind of person, let us know and we would love to get you connected. We are also looking how to become intentionally multi-ethnic and multicultural in our expressions of worship. Please pray for wisdom as we head in this new direction to incorporate the nations in our worship.
 
Vision Youth Ministry
We believe that God is training up the next generation of disciples and leaders, and Vision is a vital part of this process. 
Vision Youth has seen an increase and steady amount of students attending on a weekly basis.  We are super excited for this and excited to see how God will be working in this ministry and through these students.  
 
With an increasing attendance there is also a need for some additional volunteers.  We want to provide an incredible atmosphere and opportunities for God to work in many different ways.  One of those ways is through the relationships the students build with various leaders and the influence these leaders can have in the lives of the students.  If you are interested in and feel like Vision Youth could be a good fit for you please contact Timothy Allen at timothy.allen@derwoodalliance.org.
 
Explorers Children’s Ministry
Children are at the prime age for connecting with Jesus, and we engage them with prime ministry! 
We continue to pray and search for a children’s ministry director.  A few conversations are happening, but please continue to pray for God’s person for this role.  Once a director has been identified, the "dream list" of children's ministry initiatives that could be considered will become more of a reality.
 
Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless
The Church has a mandate to care for the materially poor.  At DAC, we take this seriously which is why we love to support and partner with Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless. 
MCCH came to DAC! On the 23rd, we were able to share our facilities with MCCH for their staff retreat.  Around 100 people attended and we heard back they had a great time! We were also invited to a BBQ as a thank you for all the meals we prepare each month. Thank You!
 
Lifetree Café
Lifetree Café is a way to build bridges of friendships with unchurched people that will bear the weight of the Gospel message. 
This past month, Lifetree discussed media bias and confronting bullies.  The next topic of discussion for October 19th is titled, “Redeemed: A Real Life Cinderella Story.”
 
Lifetree is a great place for people to connect, and you can help by spreading the word with the "Lifetree Café - Rockville MD" Facebook page, the "Lifetree Conversation Café" Meetup group, or attending yourself and inviting a friend.
 
Small Groups
Small groups are a great place to make friends, pray, study the Bible, and live on mission.  
Our four small groups are now about halfway through the semester.  So far, each group has been reflecting and discussing our Sunday gathering series, “DAC DNA.” We will begin a study by Bill Hybels titled Simplify: Ten practices to unclutter your soul. On October 23rd. If you are not connected with a group, now is a great time to get connected.
 
Missions Team
The Missions Team helps launch people on mission.
Currently the mission team is meeting once a month to discuss many areas of mission. Emily Harr has expressed her desire to have someone else take this lead and we are praying for God to raise up this leader. This month we met and talked about the potential for hosting a farmer’s market at DAC, a trip to El Salvador next summer and much more.  If you would like to be a part of this time please let us know.
 
Building and Grounds
God has given us a great location and property and we will be wise stewards of it!
We have signed a contract to reface the front of the building. Look for this to happen over the next few weeks.
 
Also, we have a work day scheduled for Saturday October 22nd to take care of drainage issues.  If you can handle a shovel, we are looking for help.  Mark Neely can be contacted at MarkNeely@havtech.com or 301-537-8909 for more details.
 
Baptism
Congratulations Brenda Z. on your baptism Sunday September 18th.  We are excited to see where God takes you in this journey with him.  If you are interested in taking this step of faith and obedience in baptism, please contact the office.
 
Other Notables
Earlier in the month, DAC hosted the District Prayer Gathering.  Other Alliance churches in our area gathered and prayed together.  This event was simulcasted to other Alliance churches in our district, as well.
 
Dates for your Calendar
Drainage Project – October 22, 7am-5pm
Intro to DAC – October 23, 11:30am-1pm
Vision Pumpkin Bash – October 26, 7pm-8:30pm
Child Dedication – October 30
Spiritual Growth Weekend (Youth) – November 4-6
IF: Gathering for Women – November 5, 9am-4pm
WACMM Men’s Event – November 12, 8:30am-3pm

October 2016

Pastor Mark
The Lead Pastor leads the church within the boundaries set by the Board.
September and October have been exciting months as we have had a baptism, child dedications, our first Fall Festival, new small group semester, new leaders arising, and more. It is also great exploring our renewed vision of being transformed by Jesus empowered by the Holy Spirit and launched on mission. We are excited about all the participation in both the Sunday Gatherings and small groups as we have continued to explore how to live this out.
 
Staff
The staff manages ministry and meets weekly
The staff is just wrapping up reading a book together called the, “The 4 Disciplines of Execution.” This has helped us to begin to clarify possible Wildly Important Goal(s) for Derwood Alliance Church. The sense of unity and comradery is great as we not only minister together but share our lives together.  Please continue to pray for God’s empowerment and protection for all of us.

Board of Governance (BOG)
The Board of Governance sets boundaries for the Pastor and meets quarterly.
Our next meeting is scheduled for December 12th where we will be finalizing the budget for 2017.
 
Elders
The Elders shepherd and give spiritual oversight to DAC.  
Each month, the elders meet for a time of prayer, discussion, to provide care for the people of DAC. We last met on October 1st and will be meeting on November 5th. The elders also lead a time of prayer each month directly after the Sunday gathering. This took place on October 9th and will again take place on November 13th .  If you need prayer for anything, please let the elders know.
 
Fall Festival
Thank you again for making our first fall festival a success.  Another big thank you to Jen and Melanie for coordinating this event, to all the volunteers that invested so much, and to the people in our church and community for showing up. May we see God use this to connect us even more with our community to bring the transformative message of Jesus!
 
Leadership Development
The staff, elders, board, and a handful of current and future leaders met again on October 17th to discuss the book, “Exponential: How You and Your Friends Can Start a Missional Church Movement.”  We broke up into small groups and discussed the second section of the book. It was another great night of conversations about how to apprentice people in ministry in multiple capacities. We are excited to see new leaders arising along with all of the people who have served faithfully for years at DAC!
 
Worship
We are excited to facilitate worship at DAC and bring people before God in a way that is transformative. In addition, the A/V team allows people to worship God by providing a quality and distraction free environment for worship.
We are looking how to become intentionally multi-ethnic and multicultural in our expressions of worship. Please pray for wisdom as we head in this new direction to incorporate the nations in our worship. The worship and A/V teams continue to look for ways to improve our Sunday morning experience. Evaluation and improvements are being made on both the sound and video. If you are musically inclined or a techy kind of person, let us know and we would love to get you connected.
 
Vision Youth Ministry
Vision is a vital part of training up the younger generation of disciples and leaders.
Vision is excited to see more and more students inviting friends and seeing God’s word spread through close friendships.  We are also excited to welcome Kyle Ott as a new addition to the Vision Youth Leader Team!  
 
This weekend, Tim and Linnea are taking three teens to a Spiritual Growth Weekend. There will be about 60 other people there. Please pray with us for this to be transformative for both the teens and leaders.
 
Explorers Children’s Ministry
Children are at the prime age for connecting with Jesus, and we engage them with prime ministry! 
Do you know on Sunday Mornings, about one third of our church is on the first floor? There are many young families and children connected with DAC and we are excited for the future. We are also delighted to announce that Miriam Black has accepted the role of Children's Ministry Director!  Miriam brings a phenomenal combination of spiritual gifts, natural abilities, and Kingdom passion to the table, and we are excited to welcome her into leadership!  Jen Ashby and Miriam will be working on this transition over the next couple of months.
 
Explorers Children's Ministry has begun a regular, monthly, "stand up" meeting on the first Sunday of the month for prayer, updates, and Q&A.  Our team leaders and apprentices are taking turns leading these brief gatherings.  Team leaders and apprentices are in the process of shifting scheduling to Elvanto, our church management software, to prevent double-scheduling of volunteers and provide for automated reminders.  They are also cooking up some fun activities for the children around the holidays.  Stay tuned!
 
Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless
The Church has a mandate to care for the materially poor.  At DAC, we take this seriously which is why we love to support and partner with Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless. 
On October 16th, a crowd helped pack bagged breakfasts for the men’s shelter on Gude Drive.  The individual spearheading this initiative will be stepping away, so DAC has a great opportunity opening up for anyone that has a heart of organization and helping those who have been marginalized in our community.  Contact the church office if you’re interested! (churchoffice@derwoodalliance.org)
 
Another way DAC served with MCCH was through on of our small groups!  Thank you to this group for helping clear and organize a shed.  And with the holidays right around the corner, check out our website for details on how you can provide gifts to MCCH clients!
 
Lifetree Café
Lifetree Café is a way to build bridges of friendships with unchurched people that will bear the weight of the Gospel message. 
This past month, Lifetree discussed the president’s faith and real-life examples of hope growing out of hopelessness.  The topic of discussion for November 2nd was titled, “Choosing Resilience: Inspiration from a Wounded Warrior.”
 
We've had a strong, 4 1/2 year run hosting Lifetree Cafe!  As energy rises for some other initiatives, we will be suspending our Lifetree Cafe after November, with the potential of relaunching sometime in the future with a more complete team, and possibly off site.  Join us for the November 16 episodes, and then for a celebration of this ministry on Wednesday, November 30 from 7:30-8:30 pm in the Cafe.
 
Small Groups
Small groups are a great place to make friends, pray, study the Bible, and live on mission.  
Our small groups have wrapped up the discussions of DAC DNA and have now doing a series by Bill Hybel’s, titled “Simplify.”  Cutting back in life can be challenging, but we are excited to hear people are taking steps to simplifying their lives. Small groups for the semester will wrap up around Thanksgiving and then begin again in early January. Look for more details to come.  Small groups are a great way to be and stay connected!
 
Missions Team
The Missions Team helps launch people on mission.
Currently the mission team is meeting once a month to discuss many areas of mission. Emily Harr has expressed her desire to have someone else take this lead and we are praying for God to raise up this leader. This month we met and talked about the potential for hosting a farmer’s market at DAC. If you are interested in exploring the farmers market, come to the next missions meeting on November 14th at 6:30 P.M. in the café.  We have also scheduled a trip to El Salvador next summer from June 24-July 1. If you are interested, come to an informational meeting on November 13th in the café after the service.
 
Building and Grounds
God has given us a great location and property and we will be wise stewards of it!
October 22nd was a full day of digging, dirt and teamwork.  A work crew came out and did a tremendous amount of work creating a new drainage system. There are a few more details to wrap up, that will happen in the next few weeks.  Thank you to Mark Neely and all those that volunteered their time! Also, within the next few weeks, our building will be getting a much needed facelift and some maintenance done on the outside. We are excited to continue to improve the face we present to the community. If you would be interested in donating towards those projects, please designate them for the building.
 
Child Dedication
It is always a celebration when parents decide to dedicate their children to the Lord!  On Sunday, October 30th, also a Together Sunday, Clint & Melissa dedicated both their children and Alison and Tyrone dedicated their daughter to the Lord. Congratulations!
 
Other Notables
Another Intro to DAC was held on the 23rd and there was a great turn out of individuals wanting to know more about DAC and what it means to take steps toward membership. We are excited to see how God is connecting people with the church. Do you know that one of the best way that people connect to the church is through relationships….so why not invite a friend to come and be a part of what God is doing here!
 
Dates for your Calendar
Spiritual Growth Weekend (Youth) – November 4-6
IF: Gathering for Women – November 5, 9am-4pm
Prayer Gathering – November 9, 7pm-8:30pm
WACMM Men’s Event – November 12, 8:30am-3pm

November 2016

Pastor Mark
The Lead Pastor leads the church within the boundaries set by the Board.
I am excited to see how God has been working in DAC and beyond in the last month. It seems that November and December are great months to connect in different ways. A few things that I am excited about are:
 
  • New people that are calling DAC their home.
  • More people serving and connecting in ministries.
  • An expanding group of faithful people who are consistently giving generously.
  • People being cared for and at the same time expanding the reach of the gospel.
  • The willingness to take faith-filled risks to see more people transformed by Jesus.
 
That is only a short list of many areas that I see God at work. For all of you who call DAC your home, thank you! Your faithfulness to God and this church makes all the difference. I am celebrating where we are at and I look forward to the future and all the lives that will be transformed by Jesus, empowered by the Holy Spirit, and launched on mission as God continues to move us forward with his purposes.
 
Staff
The staff manages ministry and meets weekly
The staff has completed the book, “The 4 Disciplines of Execution” and are finishing up goal setting for 2017. We are excited and challenged with what God has put before us and believe that God is calling all of us take a faith-filled risk to be launched on mission as we are empowered by the Holy Spirit, so that we will see lives transformed by Jesus.
 
Board of Governance (BOG)
The Board of Governance sets boundaries for the Pastor and meets quarterly.
Our next meeting is scheduled for December 12th where the focus of the meeting will be connecting with Christ. We will also be working to finalize the budget for 2017 and other items.
 
Elders
The Elders shepherd and give spiritual oversight to DAC.  
Each month, the elders meet for a time of prayer, discussion, to provide care for the people of DAC. We last met on November 5th and December 3rd.  Our next gathering is scheduled for January 7th.  The elders also lead a time of prayer each month directly after the Sunday gathering. This took place on November 13th and will again take place on December 11thth .  If you need prayer for anything, please let the elders know.
 
Leadership Development
The staff, elders, board, and a handful of current and future leaders met again on November 28th to discuss the book, “Exponential: How You and Your Friends Can Start a Missional Church Movement.”  We broke up into small groups and discussed the third section of the book which covered the intriguing topic of multiple services and church locations.  There were some great conversations about seeing the Gospel expanding out in our local area.
 
Worship
We are excited to facilitate worship at DAC and bring people before God in a way that is transformative. In addition, the A/V team allows people to worship God by providing a quality and distraction free environment for worship.
We are looking how to become intentionally multi-ethnic and multicultural in our expressions of worship. Please pray for wisdom as we head in this new direction to incorporate the nations in our worship. The worship and A/V teams continue to look for ways to improve our Sunday morning experience. Evaluation and improvements are being made on both the sound and video. If you are musically inclined or a techy kind of person, let us know and we would love to get you connected.
 
Moving to Two Services
After much prayer and consideration, we will begin a new chapter at Derwood Alliance Church as we go to two services (9:00am and 10:30am) starting February 5th. The two main reasons are care for those who serve in our children’s ministry and expanding the opportunities for people to connect with DAC. 

Over the past few years, we have seen God at work in many areas at Derwood Alliance Church. One area of significant growth is Explorers Children’s Ministry. On any given Sunday about 1/3 of our attendance is on the first floor, attending or serving in Explorer’s Children’s Ministry. This is a great sign of new life!  For those who volunteer on a regular basis, there is a sense of loss of not being able to participate in the Sunday gathering. Adding an earlier service will allow for our Explorer volunteers to participate in the first service and volunteer in the second.
 
By going to two services, it will allow for those who enjoy our current service time to continue to attend with only a minor time adjustment. Also, offering an earlier service option will provide two opportunities on Sunday for our community to connect with DAC. 
We are looking forward to how God will use this in the life of the church to expand our vision of being transformed by Jesus, empowered by The Holy Spirit and launched on mission.  Please pray with us as we take this faith-filled risk to see lives transformed.
 
Vision Youth Ministry
Vision is a vital part of training up the younger generation of disciples and leaders.
Vision Student Ministries is continuing to see the results of students inviting friends on Wednesday night!  We are averaging around 15-18 students and excited to see more coming each week. 
 
Through the month of November, we worked through a series on “Identity” where students talked through the different things they can find their identity in and the importance of finding true identity in Christ.  Also, three of our students went on a Spiritual Growth Weekend and spent some time learning about the importance of silence and solitude. 
We are excited about all that God is doing in Vision Youth Ministries and excited to see where He continues to lead.
 
Explorers Children’s Ministry
Children are at the prime age for connecting with Jesus, and we engage them with prime ministry! 
We are so excited for Miriam Black to be DAC’s Children’s Ministry Director!  Jen Ashby and Miriam have been working hard on this transition over the past month. Please continue to pray with us that the transition goes well and that we can see children and family transformed.
 
Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless
The Church has a mandate to care for the materially poor.  At DAC, we take this seriously which is why we love to support and partner with Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless. 
On November 20th, a crowd helped pack bagged breakfasts for the men’s shelter on Gude Drive.  The individual spearheading this initiative will be stepping away, so DAC has a great opportunity opening up for anyone that has a heart of organization and helping those who have been marginalized in our community.  Contact the church office if you’re interested! (churchoffice@derwoodalliance.org)
 
 
Lifetree Café
Lifetree Café is a way to build bridges of friendships with unchurched people that will bear the weight of the Gospel message. 
In November, we hosted our last two Lifetree Cafe episodes for the foreseeable future.  On November 30, we celebrated our four and half year run, approximately 105 episodes, and countless guests, new friends, team members, and memorable conversations.  We reminisced about our favorite and most outrageous episodes, the hilarious and moving conversations, and the unforgettable people that we met.  We thanked God for the ways that He used Lifetree in the spiritual lives of people including ourselves, and prayed for the people we've come to care about and their spiritual journeys.  We asked for God's direction for next steps in being a Gospel presence in our community.  And we put Lifetree to rest unless/until God directs us to relaunch Lifetree Cafe in the future.
 
Small Groups
Small groups are a great place to make friends, pray, study the Bible, and live on mission.  
Our fall small groups have wrapped up. We had great participation around our renewed mission and the study by Bill Hybels’, “Simplify”. The winter/spring groups are in the beginning stages of being created! Look for more details to come.  
 
Missions Team
The Missions Team helps launch people on mission.
We have been pursuing the possibility of hosting a Farmers Market on the DAC property during the summer.  The primary objective of the market would be to serve our community and create a venue where we can make connections with our neighbors that could ultimately be spiritually significant.  After much investigation, we have learned that the key to a successful market is an experienced market manager.  Therefore we are seeking opportunities to have one or more DAC attenders trained over the 2017 season, with the possibility of launching our own market in 2018.  The time frame would also allow us to address some infrastructure elements that would increase the success and sustainability of a market.  Please be praying with us that if this is part of God's plan for our Gospel presence in the community, avenues will open for it to go forward.
 
Please continue to pray for a Missions Team leader.  Emily Harr has expressed her desire to have someone else take this lead and we are praying for God to raise up this leader.
 
Building and Grounds
God has given us a great location and property and we will be wise stewards of it!
The re-facing of our building has taken a bit longer than expected, but we continue to trust God with this project. We have a signed contract and are waiting for the contractor to finish up some prior projects. After the building is refaced, the cross will be re-installed and a new sign will be put in place. We are excited to continue to improve the face we present to the community.
 
If you would be interested in donating towards those projects, please designate them for the building. Also, if you would like to be a part of Building and Grounds, please contact the office. (churchoffice@derwoodalliance.org)
 
IF: Gathering for Women
On November 5th, 20 DAC ladies and our friends spent the day together at our very own IF: Gathering.  We worshipped, laughed, received teaching via video from Jo Saxton and Ann Voscamp, ate great food, and shared communion.  We were challenged especially to think about who we are training to follow Jesus.  Three or more of the women who attended are considering starting their own IF: Table, a monthly practice of inviting people over to share a meal and talk about some spiritual questions.  For more information about the IF movement, see www.ifgathering.com.  
 
Prayer Gathering
On November 9th, we had a prayer gathering at DAC where we took time to both focus on God and pray for our nation. We have another one scheduled for Wednesday, January 11th and always look forward to praying together.
 
WACMM Men’s Event
A couple men attended a men’s conference in Virginia. It was a great time to worship and learn with many men from around the DMV.
 
Election Refreshment Table
Thank you to everyone that contributed to our refreshment table during the Presidential election!  The delicious treats were enjoyed by many neighbors and Board of Electors.
 
Dates for your Calendar
Christmas Eve Gathering – December 24, 7-8pm
Prayer Gathering - January 11, 7-8:30pm
Intro to DAC, January 22, 11:15am-1pm