November 2017

Note from Pastor Mark
As lead pastor, Pastor Mark leads the church within the boundaries set by the BOG.
November has come and gone and Christmas is around the corner. Throughout the month, we talked about being people of prayer: up, in and out. I truly believe in the power of God released through a praying church. Please continue to pray for God’s purposes to be fulfilled in and through the church. Also, I pray that you will be engaged in the season of Advent and prepare your hearts as you are reminded of the first coming of Jesus, as well as his second coming! May the wonder of this season stir in your soul.
 

 
Prayer (Praying for a Team Leader)
We desire to be a church that prays eagerly and are seeking out a point person to raise the temperature of prayer in and beyond DAC.
 
Worship Team
The Music and A/V team provide a quality and distraction free environment to worship Jesus Christ.
You might have noticed the improvements we are making to the sound system in the sanctuary. The old system was outdated and not functioning properly. We are excited to improve the overall worship experience on Sunday morning through this upgrade. 
 
If you are interested in joining worship, talk to Hector, and if you are interested in the A/V team, contact Matthew.
 
Hector Ayerdiz – hayerdiz@gmail.com
Matthew Sutton – sutton.matt22@gmail.com     
    
 
Missions Team
The Missions Team helps launch us on mission.
Local: In this past month, we delivered welcome kits of household items, food, toiletries and more to MCCH that went with two families to their new homes as they exited homelessness.   We continue with monthly bagged breakfasts and hot dinners at the Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless men's emergency shelter.  Thank you for your generosity!
 
Also, we are prayerfully seeking a champion to lead a team of ministers who will engage our neighbors on the Saturdays of our upcoming farmers market.   The Derwood Farmers Market will open on Saturday, April 21, 2018. Milk Lady Markets manager, Gigi, is putting together a great line-up of vendors and food trucks.
 
Global: This Spring’s missions emphasis week will be from February 25 through March 1, 2018. We will be hosting a couple from China and a couple from the Congo to speak during the week.
The Registration deadline for next year’s June 22 – July 2 Paris, France missions trip is January 14, 2018. Officially joining the team leaders, Tim & Linnea Allen, will be Jen Ashby, Luz Ragland, and Bonnie Wissink. There are seven openings still remaining on the team.  Please contact the Allen’s if you are interested in the trip to Paris (churchoffice@derwoodalliance.org).
 
A missions team will be returning to El Salvador November 17-24, 2018. This trip is open to people who are high school age and older. We are prayerfully seeking a young adult leader to co-lead this trip with Emily Harr.
 
The missions team has also reviewed our current support for both long-term and short-termed missionaries in the field, and has updated the “Request for Support” application to reflect a new “Evaluation of Request” form used by the Missions team to evaluate requests and continuing support. Pastor Mark and Laura Hessler met with Jesse Blaine as he shared what he and his wife Sarah are doing with World Orphans in Phnom, Cambodia. Jessie shared some amazing testimonials of his ministry and we prayed together for his family and powerful ministry.
 
If you are interested in volunteering to serve on an event or the mission’s team, which encompasses both global and local missions, contact Laura Hessler.
 
Laura Hessler - llhessler@gmail.com
 
Explorers Children’s Ministry (Praying for a Team Leader)
Children are at the prime age for connecting with Jesus, and we love engaging them with prime ministry!
Priscilla Gackenbach was welcomed to the world on November 11.  Congratulations, Andrew, Rubia, and big brother, Diego!  Alex Munson was dedicated to the Lord on November 12.  Congratulations, Munson family! 
 
Also this month, a few members of our Explorers 1 & 2 team met to redefine expectations for children, helpers, and teachers in this ministry in preparation for some development and training.
 
Please also pray that God will provide the right leaders and structures for this ministry to thrive and extend beyond our doors. If you would like to know more about how to get involved, contact Jen at jen.ashby@derwoodalliance.org.
 
Vision Youth Ministry
Vision Youth is a vital part of training up the younger generation of disciples and leaders.
Vision students are continuing their study on relationships and specifically looking at romantic relationships.
 
Small Groups (Jen Ashby)
Small groups are a great place to make friends, pray, study the Bible, and live on mission.
Our fall semester groups concluded on November 15, and plans are underway for the winter/ spring semester. 
 
 
Building and Grounds
God has given us a great location and property and we strive to be good stewards of these gifts.
We continue to see improvements to our property and are looking to build a team of volunteers that can be contacted for small projects throughout the year. If interested contact Mark.
   
Dave Ramsey’s “Smart Money”
On November 7, we hosted Dave Ramsey's "Smart Money" simulcast.  Eric Zetterberg coordinated this three-hour event about getting out of debt.
 
Ladies Movie Night
Kari Wong hosted a ladies' night at her home on November 11. It was a great night enjoying each other’s company, delicious food, and a fun movie.
 

 
Staff
The staff manages ministry and meets weekly.
The staff has been in the process of reviewing their goals from 2017 and setting goals for 2018. We are excited for how we believe God is birthing his goals for 2018. Look forward to hear more on this over the next month.
 
Mark Trinkl – dac.markt@gmail.com
 
Leadership Development
The Staff, Elders, and BOG gather on the third Monday of every month to pray, discuss God’s leading for our church,
and grow in their spiritual formation. 
This past month concluded our discussion on, “Leading a Healthy Multi-Ethnic Church,” by Mark DeYmaz. There were great conversations with regards to being a healthy multi-ethnic church. We celebrate where our church is at in this journey but also recognize we have a long what to go.
 
Mark Trinkl – dac.markt@gmail.com
 
Elders
The Elders shepherd and give spiritual oversight to DAC. 
DAC’s elders meet monthly for a time of prayer and discussion on how to best provide care for the church. We are also praying for future elders to serve a three-year term beginning in January. Please pray with us. Also, if you ever need prayer, please let the elders know through your Sunday Prayer Card.  They would love to pray for and with you.
 
Mark Trinkl – dac.markt@gmail.com
 
Board of Governance (BOG)
The Board of Governance sets boundaries for the Pastor and meets quarterly.
The Board will meet on December 11th to approve the budget for 2018, perform a review for Pastor Mark and discus connecting with Christ. Please pray for God’s wisdom for the Board to govern DAC with divine wisdom.
 
Evan Homan – evanhomanelder@yahoo.com
 


Christmas Eve Candlelight Service – December 24, 6pm-7pm
 

October 2017

Note from Pastor Mark
As lead pastor, Pastor Mark leads the church within the boundaries set by the BOG.
October has been an exciting month. At the beginning of the month we had our second Annual Fall Festival. The following week, Jen spoke at the District Women’s Retreat. The next Saturday was a men’s conference, and then in the last week, we finished our Fall Global Encounters week and a Spiritual Growth Weekend for teens. God is on the move, and we want to stay in step with his heart and plans. We are stepping out to take faith-filled risks and believe that God will meet us on the waters. Please pray for God’s protection and that he will bring many people to know him through DAC. Each and every one of you are a vital part of God’s work here and to the ends of the earth.



Prayer
(Praying for a Team Leader)
We desire to be a church that prays eagerly and are seeking out a point person to raise the temperature of prayer in and beyond DAC.
 
Worship Team
The Music and A/V team provide a quality and distraction free environment to worship Jesus Christ.
We are grateful to have both Hector and Melanie leading us in worship. Their heart for God and others can be seen and felt. We are also in the process of updating the sound system. Look for those updates over the next few months. Also, we are seeing more people being added to the team.  If you are interested in joining worship, talk to Hector, and if you are interested in the A/V team, contact Matthew.
 
Hector Ayerdiz – hayerdiz@gmail.com
Matthew Sutton – sutton.matt22@gmail.com    
     
 
Missions Team
The Missions Team helps launch us on mission.
Local: We had our biggest event ever with over 620 people on the DAC property for the Fall Festival on October 8!  At least one of the families that we met for the first time that day has since checked us out on a Sunday morning, and several of the neighbors to whom we sent pictures responded with thanks.  A huge thank you to all who made this day possible, and praise the Lord for great weather, great turnout, and great connections!
 
Praise God, we have signed a contract with Milk Lady Markets to manage the farmers' market next spring and summer.  We are prayerfully seeking a champion to lead a ministry team of 25 volunteers to service one Saturday a month, who will engage our neighbors on these Saturdays.
 
We collected around $600 worth of household items, food, toiletries and more on November 5 for our neighbors exiting homelessness.  We continue with monthly bagged breakfasts and hot dinners at the Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless men's emergency shelter.  Thank you for your generosity!
 
Global: Around 36 DAC households participated in one or more of the evening events of Global Encounters, October 29 - November 5.  We asked people to make a faith promise in multiple areas. We saw 22 people make a faith promise to pray for local and global missions,13 people make a faith promise to go with time and talents in a whole host of ways, 11 people make a faith promise to tithe (10%) to the local church, and 21 people pledging $36,000 to missions for the next year. Praise God!
 
During the week we had The "Feast of Nations" on Sunday, October 29 included friends from Living Waters (Korean) Church and Evangelical Missionary (Brazilian) Church.  We shared not only a meal, but also conversations about reconciliation.  "Ice Cream with El Salvador" on November 1 included friends from Grace Community Church, Hope Alliance Church, and Columbia Baptist (Brazilian congregation).  The time together focused on hearing from Tony Escalante and Kevin Cabrera, Envision El Salvador staff.  Emily Harr will be leading the next trip to El Salvador November 17-24, 2018.  The "Family Friendly Oktoberfest" on November 3 focused on the state of the church in Europe.  Tim and Linnea Allen will be leading a trip to Paris June 22 - July 2, 2018.  Throughout the week, we were challenged to make a Faith Promise to pray regularly for local and global missions, go with time and talent, and give treasure.
 
If you are interested in missions or the missions team, which encompasses both global and local missions, contact Laura.
 
Laura Hessler - llhessler@gmail.com
 
Explorers Children’s Ministry
(Praying for a Team Leader)

Children are at the prime age for connecting with Jesus, and we love engaging them with prime ministry!
God is adding to our nursery!  Pam Homan hosted a baby shower for Rubia on October 22.  We are awaiting the arrival of her baby any day. Our Elementary Explorers had their own Global Encounters experiences on October 29 and November 5.  One is never too young to learn about God's heart for the world!
 
Following her maternity leave, Miriam Black will not be returning to the role of Children's Ministry Director.  We appreciate Miriam's leadership over the last year and recognize God's provision through her.  Please pray that God will provide the right leaders and structures for this ministry to thrive and extend beyond our doors. If you would like to know more about how to get involved, contact Jen at jen.ashby@derwoodalliance.org.
 
Vision Youth Ministry
Vision Youth is a vital part of training up the younger generation of disciples and leaders.
Vision students are continuing their study on relationships.  Over this past month, students and leaders have been focusing on parent-child relationships. There were also four students who attended the Spiritual Growth Retreat at First Alliance Church in Silver Spring.
 
Tim Allen – timothy.allen@derwoodalliance.org
 
Café Classes
Our Café Classes for all ages of adults and youth cover topics of faith, family, and finances.
Dana Zetterberg led a Café Class on "The Forgiveness of Jesus" from October 1 - November 5.  Café Classes are on holiday break, and we are reassessing the effectiveness of these classes.
 
Jen Ashby – jen.ashby@derwoodalliance.org
 
Small Groups (Jen Ashby)
Small groups are a great place to make friends, pray, study the Bible, and live on mission.
Our small groups continued their unpacking of our "ONE" series, and a couple of them participated in serving together in the last month.  Groups will wrap up in mid-November and take a holiday break.  Stay tuned for details about the next semester, which will begin in January.
 
Jen Ashby – jen.ashby@derwoodalliance.org
 
Connections Team
At DAC, we value authentic community and our Connections Team plays a big part in connecting us in community.
Thank you to all of the faithful volunteers who love helping people connect!
 
Wendy Geraci – wendydms@hotmail.com
 
Building and Grounds
God has given us a great location and property and we strive to be good stewards of these gifts.
We continue to see improvement to our property and are looking to build a team of volunteers that can be contacted for small projects throughout the year. If interested contact Mark.
 
Mark Neely - MarkNeely@havtech.com
 
District Women’s Retreat
There were twelve women from DAC who attended this retreat in Virginia Beach. The theme was "Family Reunion," with Jen Ashby as the speaker. Over the weekend, significant time was spent praying for our district missionaries and collecting items for care packages for their kids.
 
WACMM Men’s Conference
Five men from DAC attended this conference on October 21.  It was a great time to learn and be together.
 


Staff
The staff manages ministry and meets weekly.
We are currently evaluating our goals from last year and setting new goals for 2018. We believe that God desires to partner with us to see lives transformed for his glory. We are praying, planning, and seeking how God would have us invest this next year.
 
Mark Trinkl – dac.markt@gmail.com
 
Leadership Development
The Staff, Elders, and BOG gather on the third Monday of every month to pray, discuss God’s leading for our church,
and grow in their spiritual formation.
 
We are currently reading the book, “Leading a Healthy Multi-Ethnic Church,” by Mark DeYmaz. It is a challenging read and fits where God is taking us as a church.
 
Mark Trinkl – dac.markt@gmail.com
 
Elders
The Elders shepherd and give spiritual oversight to DAC. 
DAC’s elders meet monthly for a time of prayer and discussion on how to best provide care for the church. We are also praying and asking people about becoming Elders for a three-year term beginning in January. Please pray with us. Also, if you ever need prayer, please let the Elders know through your Sunday Prayer Card.  They would love to pray for and with you.
 
Mark Trinkl – dac.markt@gmail.com
 
Board of Governance (BOG)
The Board of Governance sets boundaries for the Pastor and meets quarterly.
Our next Board meeting will be in December where we will vote on the budget for 2018, review the Senior Pastor and talk through goals for 2018.
 
Evan Homan – evanhomanelder@yahoo.com



Ladies Movie Night – November 11, 5pm
Child Dedication – November 12, 9am & 10:30am
MCCH Bagged Breakfast – November 19, 9am & 10:30am
Meet the Staff – November 26, 11:45am-1pm


 

September 2017

Note from Pastor Mark
As lead pastor, Pastor Mark leads the church within the boundaries set by the BOG.
What an exciting and challenging season to be around DAC. We are seeing God at work in many ways and continue to pray for opportunities to see Jesus transform lives, be empowered by the Holy Spirit and launched on mission. We know that all of the prayers, hard work, and investment of all the people through all the years are paying off. Without those who have gone before us, we would not be where we are today. I would ask that you join with me in praying for the church. Pray for unity. Pray for us to be filled and led by the Holy Spirit. For us to embrace all it means to be a healthy multi-ethnic, multi-generational church. For us to have grace and love for one another. Let’s stay focused on Jesus and see where he takes us.
 

 
Worship Team
The Music and A/V team provide a quality and distraction free environment to worship Jesus Christ.
Hector is continuing to settle into the position as Worship Director. Melanie Neely is also an integral part of both helping administratively and leading on Sundays.  We praise God for their heart for worship and for people. The hope is to continue to create an engaging environment for people to freely worship God. 
 
Missions Team
The Missions Team helps launch us on mission.
Local: We continue to explore partnering with Milk Lady Markets to host a farmers' market on our property in 2018 for the purpose of serving and connecting with our community.  Two farmer’s market surveys were sent to church members and neighboring communities this month to measure the interest and support of a community market.  The 200+ responses we have received back were unanimously positive, and the team is moving forward with organizing a Saturday community farmer’s market to open in the spring of 2018.  We have continued with monthly bagged breakfasts and monthly hot dinners at the men's emergency shelter of Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless. 
 
Global: The missions team has decided to move from a once a year, eight consecutive day missions conference to a twice a year, three to four events each missions conferences.  This fall's missions emphasis is October 29 through November 5. Check out the plans for a great week in the @Derwood newsletter, website, and social media pages.
 
For the next year we are planning to launch two teams on international trips. We will be returning to El Salvador November 17-24. This trip is open to people who are high school age and older. We will also have a trip June 22- July 2 to Paris, France. This is to explore a partnership with church planting and the wider work of the Alliance in Paris. Due to the team size limit, the first trip to Paris will consist of mission team members and a few individuals from the congregation.
 
The missions team is also reviewing our current support for both long-term and short-termed missionaries in the field, and has added support for Greg Conley and his International Justice Missionary efforts in Ghana.
 
If you are interested in trying out the missions team, which encompasses both global and local missions, contact Laura Hessler at llhessler@gmail.com.
 
Explorers Children’s Ministry
Children are at the prime age for connecting with Jesus, and we love engaging them with prime ministry!
Did you know that we have 35 children birth-5th grade regularly attending Explorers Children's Ministry?  And 10 adult and teen volunteers scheduled every week to serve?  Our ministry is growing!  September 3 we had a volunteer meeting and lunch, with some processes set in motion for celebrating kids' birthdays and better utilizing some of our supplies.  With a team of over 40 people, it's a big job to keep everyone on the same page.
 
Please pray for the volunteer needs in children's ministry, and if you would like to know more about how to get involved, contact Jen at jen.ashby@derwoodalliance.org.
 
Vision Youth Ministry
Vision Youth is a vital part of training up the younger generation of disciples and leaders.
With the start of a new school year, the Vision Youth team thought it would be a prime time to discuss relationships.  Throughout September, the students and leaders have been taking a deeper look into godly friendships.
 
Cafe Classes
Our Café Classes for all ages of adults and youth cover topics of faith, family, and finances.
We have designed these classes for people to be able to attend the first service and then during the second, continue to grow in their faith. Sarah Luse concluded the "Soul Keeping" class and we have now begun a class on “The Forgiveness of Jesus.”
 
Small Groups
Small groups are a great place to make friends, pray, study the Bible, and live on mission.
Our fall groups started September 10 with 45 people meeting in four groups.  All of our groups are unpacking our Sunday morning messages in the "ONE" series. 
 
Andrew’s Airforce Show
A few families met at the airshow and had a great time. We hope that you continue to make opportunities to connect with other people outside of Sundays and schedule events.
 
Connections Team
At DAC, we value authentic community and our Connections Team plays a big part in connecting us in community.
The Connections Ministry met in September to celebrate the upcoming one-year anniversary of the Connections Ministry "re-launch," when we built up the Connection ministry teams and changed the process to our current format so that we can better connect with guests. We enjoyed lunch together and had some great conversation about what's going well and how we can make things even better moving forward.
 
Building and Grounds
God has given us a great location and property and we strive to be good stewards of these gifts.
Thank you to the group that came out on September 30th to do some work on our church property!  It’s looking great!
 

 
Staff
The staff manages ministry and meets weekly.
The staff is adjusting to a new rhythm with changing seasons of our bi-vocational leaders. We are continue to pray together and pursue our goal of seeing people coming to know Jesus and then taking the step of baptism. We believe that God wants people to know him and we are praying and looking for opportunities to equip people to share with others about the hope found in Jesus. We also did an assessment called “Stand Out 2.0” and are looking at how to integrate that into our leadership.
 
 
Leadership Development
The Staff, Elders, and BOG gather on the third Monday of every month to pray, discuss God’s leading for our church, and grow in their spiritual formation. 
We are currently reading the book, “Leading a Healthy Multi-Ethnic Church,” by Mark DeYmaz. It is a challenging read and fits where God is taking us as a church.
 
Elders
The Elders shepherd and give spiritual oversight to DAC. 
DAC’s elders meet monthly for a time of prayer and discussion on how to best provide care for the church. We are also praying and asking people about becoming Elders for a three-year term beginning in January. Please pray with us. Also, if you ever need prayer, please let the Elders know through your Sunday Prayer Card.  They would love to pray for and with you.
 
Board of Governance (BOG)
The Board of Governance sets boundaries for the Pastor and meets quarterly.
The Board met at the beginning of September and talked about many things. Some of these are monitoring performance, leadership development, connecting with Christ, connecting with people, updating the principles, updating the sound system, a partnership with a farmer’s market, applying for a dream incentive grant to help fund the farmers market, upgrades to chairs, resurfacing the parking lot, and more. Thank God for a great Board and please pray for new Board members for the future. Our next Board meeting will be in December.
 


WACMM Men’s Event - October 21, 8:30am-3pm
Intro to DAC - October 22, 11:45am-2pm
Global Encounters Fall 2017 - October 29-November 5

July & August 2017

Note from Pastor Mark
As lead pastor, Pastor Mark leads the church within the boundaries set by the BOG.
As summer comes to an end and fall is upon us, I am reminded of having good, healthy rhythms to life.  Rhythms take in the ebbs and flows, the changes of seasons in life and allow us to not only sustain but thrive. So, as followers of Jesus, what is a healthy rhythm? A healthy rhythm recognizes we are created to be with God and not simply “do” for him. When we take time to be with God by reading and studying the Bible, prayer, participating in community with other followers of Jesus, and living on mission, it reminds us of both our belonging in Him and connection to one another. We are created for God and for community and when we have a healthy relationship with God and others, life is so much richer. Plato stated, “An unexamined life is not worth living.” As you enter into fall, why not take a moment to examine your interior and exterior life. Consider your rhythms, relationship with God, relationship with others, your boundaries, and the season of life in which you find yourself. Then make the necessary adjustments to have a healthy rhythm in life.


Worship Team
The Music and A/V team provide a quality and distraction free environment for worship.
On August 6, Katie Boss officially passed the baton onto Hector Ayerdiz and Melanie Neely.  Following the second service that day, we enjoy a great luncheon celebrating Katie’s leadership over the past few years.  Since then, there has been a great transition with the team. “They have adapted very well and are great to work with. The team has shown an ability to have an open mind in trying new things.” - Hector
 
Missions Team
The Missions Team helps launch us on mission.
Local: We are exploring the possibility of partnering with an organization to host a farmers' market on our property in 2018 for the purpose of serving and connecting with our community.  We have continued with monthly bagged breakfasts and monthly hot dinners at the men's emergency shelter of Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless. 
 
Global: Our El Salvador team returned on Saturday, July 1, and gave a moving report on Sunday, July 2.  We have begun a monthly financial partnership with the Envision work in El Salvador, and each one of us who gives to the DAC Missions Fund is part of that.  We have penciled in a second trip to El Salvador in 2018, and are exploring the possibility of another trip in 2018 to a new (to us) field.  The missions team has decided to move from a once a year, eight consecutive day missions conference to a twice a year, 3-4 events each missions conferences.  Pencil in this fall's missions emphasis for October 29 - November 5, and watch for more information as those plans come together.
 
If you are interested in trying out the missions team, which encompasses both global and local missions,
contact Laura Hessler at llhessler@gmail.com.
 
Explorers Children’s Ministry
Children are at the prime age for connecting with Jesus, and we love engaging them with prime ministry!
DAC ladies showered Miriam Black with blessings for baby Sarah Elizabeth on Sunday, July 2.  Sarah was born on August 9.  Miriam serves as our Director of Children's Ministry, and began her maternity leave from ministry on July 23.  Jen Ashby will be serving as the interim Children's Ministry Director through approximately October 18.  Jacob Munson concluded his time as Lil Explorers Team Leader, and Sarah Luse took on that role.  Thank you, Jacob and Sarah!

Over the summer we said goodbye to some children and volunteers in our program who moved, we welcomed some new children, and we graduated three children to Vision Youth Ministry.  Explorers celebrated the end of a great summer around a campfire at the home of Dave and Trudy Schwarz. It was a great time to have fun as families together.
 
Please pray for the volunteer needs in children's ministry, and if you would like to know more about how to get involved, contact Jen at jen.ashby@derwoodalliance.org.
 
Vision Youth Ministry
Vision Youth is a vital part of training up the younger generation of disciples and leaders.
Vision Youth wrapped up their summer series of Bible stories around the campfire in July and enjoyed a summer break for the month of August.  As school gets back in session, so does Vision. If you know of any youth that is not connected with Vision, invite them to be a part of what God is doing here!
 
Cafe Classes
Our Café Classes for adults and youth cover topics of faith, family, and finances.
Chris Henrich wrapped up her June/July "after hours" class, "Reaching Higher in Studying the Bible," and Jen Ashby and Evan Homan concluded the July Sunday morning class, "Just Walk Across the Room."  Our current Sunday morning class, "Soul Keeping," runs through September, and it's not too late to jump in!  The class is based on material by Pastor John Ortberg, and facilitated by Sarah Luse and Jen Ashby.
 
Small Groups
Small groups are a great place to make friends, pray, study the Bible, and live on mission.
Our June/July round of small group leader training concluded, and registration is open for our fall small group semester.  This fall, all of our groups will be unpacking our Sunday morning message series, "One," based on Jesus' prayer for unity in John 17.  Small groups are our primary venue for adults to make friends, pursue transformation, and be on mission with others.  You do not want to miss this fall's semester!  Register online or via your connect card on Sunday morning.  Registration closes and groups start September 10.
 
A Day at Hershey Park
At DAC, we are trying to find simple ways for people to connect outside of Sundays to have fun together. Over the summer, a group of us headed to Hershey Park for a fun day filled with rides, roller-coasters and relationships. Everybody had a great time. In September, we are encouraging people to meet at Andrew’s Airforce Show on the 16th, 9am-5pm for a free fun day!  Finally, keep October 7th marked on your calendar for our next Annual Fall Festival!

Building and Grounds
God has given us a great location and property and we strive to be good stewards of these gifts.
Thank you to all the people who volunteer around the church. Set your calendar! We have a church work day scheduled for September 30, 8am-1pm



Staff
The staff manages ministry and meets weekly.
Over the summer, Katie Boss transitioned out of her role as Worship Director and Hector Ayerdiz transited into the role. The staff is in the middle of establishing a new rhythm of meeting and growing together. We are excited for the future and all that God has in store for us. Please keep all of us in your prayers.
 
 
Leadership Development
The Staff, Elders, and BOG gather on the third Monday of every month to pray, discuss God’s leading for our church,
and grow in their spiritual formation. 

On the July 24, DAC’s leadership and families enjoyed a great night out of bowling at Bowl America.  In August, the group kicked off the fall semester gatherings by praying for the new season we’re all entering.  The book that we will be reading and discussing over the next couple of months is, “Leading a Healthy Multi-Ethnic Church,” by Mark DeYmaz. We will also be looking at how to incorporate a more systematic pathway for leadership development.
 
Elders
The Elders shepherd and give spiritual oversight to DAC. 
DAC’s elders meet monthly for a time of prayer and discussion on how to best provide care for the church.  If you ever need prayer, please let the Elders know through your Sunday Prayer Card.  They would love to pray for and with you.
 
Board of Governance (BOG)
The Board of Governance sets boundaries for the Pastor and meets quarterly.
The Board last met in June. The focus of the meeting was updating the Principles and bylaws. We discussed continual community assessments to make sure that our church is meeting the needs of our community. There was also discussion about pastoral reviews, the policy manual and upgrades to the building. The next meeting is set for September 11th where we will discussing performance reviews and leadership development, along with future board members and by law changes.



District Women’s Retreat – Registration Due September 8
Andrew’s Airforce Show – September 16, 9am-5pm
District Conference – September 22-24
Church Work Day – September 30, 8am-1pm
Fall Festival - October 7, 10am-2pm

June 2017

Note from Pastor Mark
As lead pastor, Pastor Mark leads the church within the boundaries set by the BOG.
What is God saying to you and what are you doing about it?
 
This is a question that has been asked and answered by our leaders again and again. It seems simple, yet challenging. For some of us, we know God’s voice. For others, we are still learning to hear God’s voice. Jesus says in John 10:27 “My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.” If we say we follow Jesus, we need to know the voice of God in our lives. A powerful way to hear his voice is through the pages of the Bible, the Word of God. God’s voice will never contradict his word. If you want to hear the voice of God, make sure to read the Word of God.
 
Once we know His voice, we must be willing to respond. James 1:22 states, “But don’t just listen to God’s word. You must do what it says. Otherwise, you are only fooling yourselves.” I know that God is speaking and working individually and collectively and we must not only hear his voice but do what he says. So I ask again, what is God saying to you and what are you doing about it? May we be individuals and a community that hear from God and do what he says.



Missions Team
The Missions Team helps launch us on mission.
Local: We hosted our third annual awareness/fundraising walk for Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless on June 11.  We also hosted MCCH staff member, Lynn Rose, and client, Carlisle, in our worship gatherings.  66 individuals participated in the walk and $1306 was raised. Our monthly bagged breakfasts and hot dinners for the men's emergency shelter continue with Luz Ragland kicking it up a notch by organizing a cookout at the shelter complete with Hawaiian leis and grass skirts!  We are continuing to explore the possibility of hosting a farmer's market next summer, and we are talking with various market managers in the area.  Please pray with us that we would know God's direction in this.
 
Global: The team of 15 were launched on a mission trip to El Salvador on June 24! This was an amazing trip for all. We are excited to see God's direction about continued involvement in El Salvador and about where he would point us next!



Explorers Children’s Ministry
Children are at the prime age for connecting with Jesus, and we love engaging them with prime ministry!
As some of our team members make various transitions, we are working hard to round out our team leaders, teachers, and helpers in Explorers Children's Ministry!  In June, we welcomed new helpers Laura Hessler, Rachel Tracy, and Gareth Mugisa.  Please pray with us for the continued building of healthy, passionate teams, and for Miriam Black's upcoming maternity leave from serving as the Children's Ministry Director.
 

Vision Youth Ministry
Vision Youth is a vital part of training up the younger generation of disciples and leaders.
On June 10, we celebrated the graduation of three students: Ryan Brown, Alyssa Larason & Genevieve Messner.  The graduates and leaders enjoyed a fun dinner out celebrating their recent accomplishments!
 
On Wednesday evenings, our Vision youth have been exploring stories of the Bible around a campfire.  Each week, we have enjoyed dramatic readings of both well-known and lesser known stories, working our way from beginning to the end of the Bible.  It’s been great to read large passages of scripture in one sitting, and many students have been asking great discussion questions subsequent to the reading!
 

Cafe Classes
Our Café Classes for adults and youth cover topics of faith, family, and finances.
Keith Luse taught "Essentials: The core beliefs of Christianity" in our Sunday morning class for the month of June, and Chris Henrich kicked off "Reaching Higher in Studying the Bible" in our Wednesday evening class for June/ July.  Our interactive classes are the place to unpack Biblical truths in a relevant way, and gain crucial skills for the Christian journey.  Take advantage of these opportunities!
 

Small Groups
Small groups are a great place to make friends, pray, study the Bible, and live on mission.
Jen Ashby and Pam Homan have been investing in small group leaders this summer as we prepare for our next small group semester beginning in September.
 

Connections Team
At DAC, we value authentic community and our Connections Team plays a big part in connecting us in community.
The Connections Ministry is excited to welcome two new team leaders. Casey Sutton has recently taken on the role of Coffee Team leader, and she has already found ways to enhance how we do things on Sunday mornings. Her cheerfulness, willingness, and ingenuity make her a great fit for this role. A huge thank you to Judy Beardsley for the years that she served wonderfully in this role, and we thank her too for her willingness to devote more time to the Children’s Ministry as she steps down from her leadership role on the Coffee Team.
Clint Musser has recently taken on the role of Usher Team Leader.  Clint’s natural friendliness and willingness to serve are a perfect match for this role, and the team will be in great hands with him leading the way.  We are so grateful to Ray Boss, who was our amazing one-man usher and grew our usher team to a group of eight serving at two Sunday morning services. 
 

The Gathering
On June 14, DAC hosted the District Prayer gathering as a Satellite location.  This was a great time to connect with the larger district family. We are hoping to see more people attend at future dates.




Staff
The staff manages ministry and meets weekly.
Please continue to pray for unity of the staff during this time of transition with Katie and Hector. Katie with finish at DAC on August 6th. She is a great part of DAC and we want to bless her in every way possible. Hector will begin on July 23rd. We are excited about him and his family becoming a part of DAC and are looking forward to all God has in store.
 

Leadership Development
The Staff, Elders, and BOG gather on the third Monday of every month to pray, discuss God’s leading for our church,
and grow in their spiritual formation. 

Currently we are on summer break but will continue in the Fall.
 

Elders
The Elders shepherd and give spiritual oversight to DAC. 
DAC’s Elders meet monthly for a time of prayer and discussion on how to best provide care for the church.  The Elders also lead the congregation in a time of prayer together every second Sunday of the month.  If you ever need prayer, please let the Elders know through your Sunday Prayer Card.  They would love to pray for and with you.
 

Board of Governance (BOG)
The Board of Governance sets boundaries for the Pastor and meets quarterly.
The Board met in June. The focus of the meeting was updating the Principles and bylaws. We discussed continual community assessments to make sure that our church is meeting the needs of community. There was also discussion about pastoral reviews, the policy manual and upgrades to the building. The Next meeting is set for September 11th.




Intro to DAC – July 23
A Day at Hershey Park – July 25
Hector's First Sunday – July 23
A Farewell Luncheon for Katie Boss – August 6


May 2017

Note from Pastor Mark

As lead pastor, Pastor Mark leads the church within the boundaries set by the BOG.

May has been an incredible month to see God at work. There were two main highlights this month. First was to witness three children being dedicated and three people being baptized. A few signs of a healthy church are a full baptismal and a full nursery! Praise God for his work in individual and families in our midst. The other highlight was General Council of the Alliance in Columbus, Ohio. I was excited for my whole family to attend. My children loved the children’s ministry, and my wife and I were challenged and encouraged by God’s work through our Alliance family both in the United States and around the world. If you have a bit of time, here is a link to all of the videos from the week. http://www.cmalliance.org/video/series/alliance-council/#2017
 
 

As we enter into the Summer months we are excited to be a part of many things that God is doing This month we have our third annual MCCH walk, we are having great training and learning opportunities, and are headed to El Salvador. Please continue to pray for God’s unity and his power as we seek to follow his lead for the church.
 
 

Missions Team

The Missions Team helps launch us on mission.

In the month of May, Laura Hessler was received as an official member of DAC, baptized as a believer, and was appointed as our Missions team leader.  Laura also attended General Council of the C&MA alongside the Trinkl family and Jen Ashby to continue expanding her understanding of The Alliance and Alliance missions.
 
The El Salvador Mission trip team had a yard/ bake sale on May 13 to raise funds for their trip. The final details are coming together and everyone is excited to be going! Please be praying for all of them as we head out June 24 to July 1.
 

Baptism & Child Dedication Sunday

May 7 was a great day of celebration for our church family! Between both services, three children were dedicated to Christ and three individuals took the step of obedience to Christ through baptism!

Prayer Gathering

We are continuing to learn as a church how to pray eagerly. At the prayer gathering we had a great time of prayer for one another and our world. We are excited to be hosting the District Prayer gathering June 14th as a satellite location. Keep praying!

 

MCCH Partnership

The Church has a mandate to care for the materially poor.  At DAC, we take this seriously which is why we love to support and partner with Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless.

For the second year, DAC sponsored the MCCH Gala, and Pastor Mark and Nami, Jen Ashby, Terrance and Luz Ragland, and Laura Hessler represented DAC at the event. This month we are having a Community Walk to help toe homeless on June 11th. Invite a friend and be a part of what God is doing for some of the most vulnerable people on our area.

 

Vision Youth Ministry

Vision Youth is a vital part of training up the younger generation of disciples and leaders.

Last month, the youth completed memorizing the 66 books as well as the structure of the Bible.  Throughout this series, videos from The Bible Project were used to come alongside the memorizing to give a holistic view of the biblical narrative.
 

Small Groups

Small groups are a great place to make friends, pray, study the Bible, and live on mission.

Small groups will take a break this summer while we do some more extensive training with leaders, and then small group registration will open again in August for the fall semester.

 Cafe Classes

Our Café Classes for adults and youth cover topics of faith, family, and finances.

Ted Mueller finished the "Discovering the Old Testament" class.  Vision Youth took a Sunday to talk about their experiences at District Youth Retreat, and Karina Homan took a Sunday to talk about her mission trip to Guatemala. This month we have a class on Essentials on the core beliefs of Christianity and Café after hours on studying God’s word. See our website for more info.


 Explorers Children’s Ministry

Children are at the prime age for connecting with Jesus, and we love engaging them with prime ministry!

A continued thank you to Miriam Black and her team. Please pray for more people who are passionate about strategically investing in our children to join the team.
 

Staff

The staff manages ministry and meets weekly.

Please continue to pray for Katie’s transition. She continues to be a vital part of the team. Make sure to speak words of life and encouragement to her.
 

Elders

The Elders shepherd and give spiritual oversight to DAC. 

DAC’s Elders meet monthly for a time of prayer and discussion on how to best provide care for the church.  The Elders also lead the congregation in a time of prayer together every second Sunday of the month.  If you ever need prayer, please let the Elders know through your Sunday Prayer Card.  They would love to pray for and with you.
 

Leadership Development

The Staff, Elders, and BOG gather on the third Monday of every month to pray, discuss God’s leading for our church, and grow in their spiritual formation. 

On the 15th, this group concluded the book discussion of, “Emotionally Healthy Leader.”  A summer break will be take place, but the staff, elders and BOG will continue these gatherings come fall.
 

Board of Governance (BOG)

The Board of Governance sets boundaries for the Pastor and meets quarterly.

The next meeting is scheduled for June 12th.
 

Upcoming Dates

The Gathering, a prayer event – June 14
El Salvador Mission Trip – June 24-July 1

March & April 2017

Note from Pastor Mark

As lead pastor, Pastor Mark leads the church within the boundaries set by the BOG.

This has been an exciting few months as we have continued to see God at work and many significant signs of new life in the church. Please join with me as we continue to pray for unity and God’s leading, timing and provision in all areas of the church.
 
 

Missions Team

The Missions Team helps launch us on mission.

Global Encounters 2017 (March 26 - April 2) was an action packed week with Colleen and John Schleh, Christian & Missionary Alliance workers in the Dominican Republic, and Paul, who serves in Central Asia.  We learned much about God's heart and activity for these parts of the world, as well as for our own neighborhoods. There were many well attended events along with a fundraiser for the trip to El Salvador in June where over $5,000 was raised!  We were inspired to pray, give, go, and send!
 

Spring Carnival

We welcomed about 540 people from the community to our 8th Annual Spring Carnival.  We had some great interactions and feedback, and it has been exciting to see some of those families with us on Sunday morning!

Good Friday & Easter Sunday

On Good Friday we partnered with three other local Alliances church. It was a great time to come together as a community to reflect on the death of Jesus.
 
Easter Sunday was a celebration of the Resurrection and the new life in Christ that is for everyone that chooses to believe.
 

Worship Ministry

The Worship Team leads us in reverence before God in a way that is transformative. 
The AV Team assists by providing a distraction free environment.

March and April have been marked with the bittersweet announcement that Katie Boss will be stepping down from her position as Worship Director come August 6. In the coming weeks, Katie and Mark will be working closely to prayerfully navigate this change. We will keep you in the loop as decisions are made that effect the worship ministry with this regard.
 
 

MCCH Partnership

The Church has a mandate to care for the materially poor.  At DAC, we take this seriously which is why we love to support and partner with Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless.

Every third Sunday, DAC packs bagged breakfasts for the men of the Gude’s Men shelter. In March, we added another layer to our partnership with Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless:  preparing and serving a hot meal to these same clients.  Huge thanks to all the adults, youth, and children who have rolled up their sleeves to pitch in, and to Luz Ragland for coordinating this effort to serve our neighbors!  
 
 

Vision Youth Ministry

Vision Youth is a vital part of training up the younger generation of disciples and leaders.

Over the past few weeks, our students have been studying the structure of the Bible and memorizing the order of all 66 books.  In April, 18 students and four leaders traveled down to Goshen, VA for the annual District Youth Retreat.  This weekend was packed with tons of fun, thought provoking sessions explaining what it looks like to be anchored to Christ, and sincere small group discussions.
 

Small Groups

Small groups are a great place to make friends, pray, study the Bible, and live on mission.

Our four small groups finished strong at the end of April, but not before inviting some different small group members to "try on" leading.  Small groups will take a break this summer while we do some more extensive training with leaders, and then small group registration will open again in August for the fall semester.
 

Cafe Classes

Our Café Classes for adults and youth cover topics of faith, family, and finances.

Ted Mueller kicked off "Discovering the Old Testament" in March, walking through the broad brushstrokes of the first part of the Bible.  This Café Class will conclude mid-May, with a couple of special events following on May 21 and 28.  Our next Café Class will begin in June.  Additionally, there will be a Café Class After Hours this summer on Wednesday evenings.  Stay tuned for more details, including registration for childcare.
 

Building and Grounds

God has given us a great location and property and we strive to be good stewards of these gifts.

In preparation for Easter weekend services and celebrations, a hardworking group came out on April 8 to spruce up not only our church property but the DAC Villa, as well.  Thank you to all that helped, and thank you to Mark Neely for his constant work and leadership in this ministry!
 

Explorers Children’s Ministry

Children are at the prime age for connecting with Jesus, and we love engaging them with prime ministry!

A continued thank you to Miriam Black and her team. Please pray for more people who are passionate about strategically investing in our children to join the team.
 

Connections Team

At DAC, we value authentic community and our Connections Team plays a big part in connecting us in community.

A continued thank you to Wendy Geraci and her team as they provide a great welcoming environment on Sunday mornings and beyond! Keep up the great work!
 
 

Staff

The staff manages ministry and meets weekly.

To further our ability to share our faith, the staff thought it would be good to have a better understanding of other religions and beliefs.  Following a Wednesday staff meeting, Mark, Jen, Tim, Katie and Linnea visited the Islamic Center of Maryland.  It was a fun visit and a great time to ask questions about the Islamic faith.  The staff also celebrated Katie’s birthday in March! 
 

Elders

The Elders shepherd and give spiritual oversight to DAC. 

DAC’s Elders meet monthly for a time of prayer and discussion on how to best provide care for the church.  The Elders also lead the congregation in a time of prayer together every second Sunday of the month.  If you ever need prayer, please let the Elders know through your Sunday Prayer Card.  They would love to pray for and with you.
 

Leadership Development

The Staff, Elders, and BOG gather on the third Monday of every month to pray, discuss God’s leading for our church, and grow in their spiritual formation. 

This group is currently reading, “Healthy Emotionally Leader,” by Pete Scazzero.   This book is challenging us as leaders to live emotionally healthy lives.
 

Board of Governance (BOG)

The Board of Governance sets boundaries for the Pastor and meets quarterly.

The next meeting is scheduled for June 12th.
 

Upcoming Dates

Baptism & Child Dedication Sunday – May 7
El Salvador Yard Sale Fundraiser – May 13
Meet the Staff Lunch – May 28
General Council – May 30-June 4

February 2017

Pastor Mark

The Lead Pastor leads the church within the boundaries set by the Board.

As a church, we believe that God has positioned us here at this location and time to see lives transformed by Jesus, empowered by the Holy Spirit and launched on mission.  Just within the last few weeks and months, we have heard stories of people driving by, or who are living locally connecting with DAC. I love that with the building improvements that we are now more visible and attractive to our neighborhood. It is exciting to see God working both through the people of the church (remember that the church is not a building, it is the called-out people of God living out the purposes of God) and our location.
 
A few changes that we made in February were going to two gatherings on Sundays at 9:00am and 10:30am and adding Café classes. Here are the top three reasons for the changes: One, to provide an opportunity for our Explorer workers to worship on Sunday before serving during the second service. Two, to provide two different opportunities for our community to connect on Sundays. And three, to provide great classes during the second gathering while people are already here. So far this has been very well received, attendance is increasing, and people are enjoying the options and opportunities. I believe this is just the beginning of all that God has for us as a church. Please continue to pray for God to use us in a powerful way to transform lives.
 

Staff

The staff manages ministry and meets weekly.

In the New Year, the staff began to implement goals based off of their readings from “Four Disciplines of Execution.” Our biggest goal is to see at least 11 people transformed by Jesus and then take a step in baptism. At the beginning of February, we were already able to celebrate 5 baptisms. Praise God!  Also, in January, each staff member committed to visiting two new movers each week. In February, the staff shared their experience of visiting new movers on Sunday mornings. This has been stretching but a great way to connect more with our community.  The staff also began work to pull together ideas that would give the foyer a fresh new look and are planning to have some of this updated in the next few weeks.
 
At the end of February, the staff went on their second annual staff retreat to southern Maryland. It was a great time to be together, be refreshed, reflect on where we have come from, how we are doing and where we are headed.  All of the staff came away with the sense that we are on the right track and need to continue to execute the mission, vision and values that God has given to us as a church.
 

Board of Governance (BOG)

The Board of Governance sets boundaries for the Pastor and meets quarterly.

The Board met in December. The focus of the meeting was connecting with Christ.  The board training was on the biblical mission, vision and values of DAC. We also finalized the 2017 budget and continued to consider ideas of how to be more intentionally missional in our surrounding community. The next Board meeting is on March 13th where we will focus on connecting with people, culture and community.
 

Elders

The Elders shepherd and give spiritual oversight to DAC.  

The Elders met on January 7th, February 4th and March 4th for a time of prayer and discussion on how to provide care for the people of DAC.  The next gathering is scheduled for April 1st.
 
The Elders also led a time of prayer after the 10:30am gathering on February 12th.  The next time of prayer together will be held on March 12th.  If there is anything that you ever need prayer for, please let the Elders know, and we would love to pray for you.  
 

Leadership Development

The Staff, Elders, and Board gathered again on the 20th.  A good portion of the evening was spent remembering Ray Boss and praying for all of our church family members who have recently lost loved ones.
 
The second portion of the night was devoted to discussing the first three chapters of Peter Scazzero’s book, “Emotionally Healthy Leader” and answering the questions: “What is God telling you? And what are you doing about it?”  The journey to being an emotionally healthy leader is a challenge but something that we desire to be at DAC.
 

Worship

We are excited to facilitate worship at DAC and bring people before God in a way that is transformative. In addition, the A/V team allows people to worship God by providing a quality and distraction free environment for worship.

The worship team has handled the transition great to two Sunday Gatherings. This has made Thursday rehearsals even more strategic as the team prepares for Sunday. We continue to praise God for the team that he has given us and are also are praying for God to raise up more musicians, leaders, and A/V team members. Raising the value of combining different ethnicities into worship through music selection, team members and more is another important element of worship.
 

Vision Youth Ministry

Vision is a vital part of training up the younger generation of disciples and leaders.

Over this past month, Vision students and leaders have been challenged in their study of, “Questions.”  In January, Tim asked the students to anonymously write down one question they would like to ask God.  Each question was very deep and thoughtful and was reflected in the rich conversations experienced on Wednesday evenings. There is a great energy in Vision and we are excited to see how God is transforming lives through this vital ministry!
 

Explorers Children’s Ministry

Children are at the prime age for connecting with Jesus, and we love them and engage them with prime ministry! 

The Explorers Children's Ministry continues to thrive under the leadership of Miriam Black.  We are facing some changes in team leaders (for Tiny Explorers, Lil Explorers, and Elementary Explorers) and are seeking God for the right people to fill those roles next.  With the birth of two new babies, and more on the way, we've identified a path for how we will come alongside new parents.  Welcome Evelyn Ott and Gabriel Carrera!
 

Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless

The Church has a mandate to care for the materially poor.  At DAC, we take this seriously which is why we love to support and partner with Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless. 

On January 25, Jen Ashby, Lucrecia Munson, and Luz Ragland assisted with the Point in Time Count at Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless' men's emergency shelter where great connections were made with clients and friendships with the staff deepened.
 
On the 12th, both services lent a helping hand in our continued endeavor to help MCCH provide food for the men they care for at the Home Builders Care Assessment Center (HBCAC) Men’s Emergency Shelter.  We have also decided to increase our involvement with MCCH by adding another monthly meal at the shelter, this one coordinated by Luz Ragland and prepared and personally served by DAC. 
 
On March 2nd, Jen and Mark attended a pre-Gala event. The Gala is MCCH’s annual fundraising dinner, which will be held on May 4th this year. If you are interested in attending, please let us know.
 

Small Groups

Small groups are a great place to make friends, pray, study the Bible, and live on mission.  

Four winter/spring small groups are up and running and are scheduled to meet through April.  New leaders include Andrew Black, and new hosts include Mark and Melanie Neely.  Each group is covering differing material this semester, but one thing all the groups have in common is an emphasis on identifying and developing new small group leaders so that we can increase our capacity for connecting people in small groups.
 

Cafe Classes

Our Café Classes for adults and youth cover topics of faith, family, and finances. 

Our first Cafe Class (Sundays, 10:30-11:30 am), "God's Economy:  It's not just about money," was taught by Evan Homan and ran through February.  Our next Cafe Class, "Discovering the Old Testament," is taught by Ted Mueller and began on March 5th.
 

Missions Team

The Missions Team helps launch people on mission.

The missions team is in the thick of planning for "Global Encounters," March 26 - April 2, during which we will be hosting three Christian & Missionary Alliance international workers.  Plans are well under way for the mission trip to El Salvador this led by Pastor Mark, Emily Harr, and Pastor Julio Orozco of the Grace Community Church.
 
Laura Hessler and others from the missions team continue to meet with local farmers' market managers to explore the possibility of hosting our own market beginning in 2018. 
 
You can begin to mark your calendars for the Spring Carnival which will be Saturday, April 15 from 10 am to 2 pm!  Jen Ashby, Melanie Neely, and Jacob Munson are heading up this effort.
 

Connections Team

At DAC, we value authentic community, and our Connections Team plays a big part in connecting people in community.

Wendy Geraci continues to provide excellent leadership to the Connections Team as they face new challenges.  The team has taken in stride the change to two Sunday gatherings.  We are seeking some additional team members, particularly in the areas of ushers and follow up team members.
 

Building and Grounds

God has given us a great location and property and we will be wise stewards of it!

It has been great to see the building refaced, the cross relit and many other projects happening around the church. Save the date for the next church work day on April 8th. There will be many projects to tackle that day to continue the improvement of the building and property.
 

Other Notables

On February 18, DAC hosted five couples for a one day marriage conference titled, “Marriage: Built to Last.” We believe that healthy couples translate to healthy families and we will continue to raise the value of healthy marriages.
 

Dates for your Calendar

Global Encounters 2017 – March 26-April 2, various times
Church Work Day – April 8
Good Friday Service – April 14
Spring Carnival – April 15
Easter Sunday – April 16